Jeep Axle swap question w/arb locker - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2011, 07:20 PM   #1
kevsCJ7
Senior Member
 
kevsCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-06
Location: Clinton Twp.
Posts: 487
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Jeep Axle swap question w/arb locker

Is a D30 from a XJ a direct bolt in to a TJ??

Last edited by kevsCJ7; April 20th, 2011 at 08:55 PM.
kevsCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 12th, 2011, 08:46 PM   #2
1x1_Speed_Craig
Simplify...
 
1x1_Speed_Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 7,545
iTrader: (122)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yes, except an XJ axle doesn't have the cam bolt set-up for alignment of the axle. You'd need adjustable lower control arms (or to weld on new LCA mounts) to do it correctly on a TJ. Otherwise, it bolts up just fine.

Craig
1x1_Speed_Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 09:02 PM   #3
kevsCJ7
Senior Member
 
kevsCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-06
Location: Clinton Twp.
Posts: 487
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do you need adjustable uppers too?
kevsCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 09:21 PM   #4
1x1_Speed_Craig
Simplify...
 
1x1_Speed_Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 7,545
iTrader: (122)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsCJ7 View Post
Do you need adjustable uppers too?
No
1x1_Speed_Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 12:41 PM   #5
kevsCJ7
Senior Member
 
kevsCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-06
Location: Clinton Twp.
Posts: 487
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok, maybe dumb question but......
How about all the brake components & sway bar discos. I'm assuming it's all interchangeable but thought I'd ask.
THANKS
kevsCJ7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 08:56 PM   #6
1x1_Speed_Craig
Simplify...
 
1x1_Speed_Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 7,545
iTrader: (122)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsCJ7 View Post
Ok, maybe dumb question but......
How about all the brake components & sway bar discos. I'm assuming it's all interchangeable but thought I'd ask.
THANKS
You'd want to get brake calipers/rotors based on the year/model of the donor axle. There are differences, I believe. The alternative would be to swap your knuckles and all hardware from your current axle on to the HP D30.

Craig
1x1_Speed_Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12831 seconds with 39 queries