Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:13 AM   #1
toyota h8r
Senior Member
 
toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-27-10
Location: sylvania
Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 5mpg and no codes!!!!(2000 zr2)

hey all,

my truck tore apart waiting for parts stores to open

but my 2000 zr2 is getting close to 5mpg and im fed up
so far ive done;
--cap/rotor
--ac-delco platunum plugs
--ac-delco wires
--new TB
--IAC replaced
--IAT replaced
--fuel pump
--fuel filter
--ign coil
--ign module

So i started tearing the top end of the intake apart to see MOST of my o-rings had been leaking and i found dirt on my fuel pressure regulator!!!! The spider assembly had RTV around it so it would seal to intake

The MAP sensor was really loose but other than these issues i dont see puddling of fuel or even pressurized nothing drips.

I ran my diagnostics tool on it and all sensors are reading correctly and within specs.......The oxygen sensors are working correctly also.

The truck has 113,xxx miles and is tore down to this point, do i man up and buy the 299.95 MPFI conversion from local autostore????? ALSO a new regulator?

PLEASE help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i cannot afford to drive my truck now and its my only ride to work right now
toyota h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:17 AM   #2
toyota h8r
Senior Member
 
toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-27-10
Location: sylvania
Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

parts i have replaced:
--MAF
--MAP sensor
--fuel pump(gauge still shows 41-51psi......)
--fuel filter
--air filter
--MPFI KIT(replaces JUNK spider setup)
--spark plugs
--wires
--cap/rotor


pretty much everything but o2's(autozone was out)

My hand held scanner shows o2's are pretty quick and responsive but teh ECU is adding fuel on BANK 2 and wont go under 20* of advance at idle....
toyota h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 01:00 AM   #3
370
Senior Member
 
370's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-10-10
Location: kouts, in
Posts: 297
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

autozone electrical parts
370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 01:15 AM   #4
toyota h8r
Senior Member
 
toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-27-10
Location: sylvania
Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 370 View Post
autozone electrical parts
well.......then bosch sucks......

thats all i ever used for o2's.......
toyota h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 04:43 AM   #5
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toyota h8r View Post
--new TB
What kind of new Throttle body? Is it stock and if so do you have the air diffuser on the blade? A lot of people who own S10's think this is some kind of restricter but it is not, it is designed to eliminate low pressure zones inside the manifold that without it will cause lean conditions on certain cylinders.

The MPFI conversion is probably the very best mod you can do on a S10, it eliminates the poppet valves, the poppet valves are notorious for getting stuck either open or closed, with what you describe I would guess you have one or more on a bank that is stuck open, the computer see's the motor is running rich and trims the fuel. With the computer trimming the fuel the side that has stuck poppet valves is getting the right amount of fuel however the other bank is now running lean.

Another possibility is lower intake manifold leak causing one bank to run lean and the computer is trying to compensate for it by adding more fuel.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 11:42 AM   #6
toyota h8r
Senior Member
 
toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-27-10
Location: sylvania
Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i just wish i knew how to read my scan tool.......from what i gather the o2's are not reading right and causing the ecu to dump fuel

im getting anywhere from -7.8 to -10% fuel. From what ive read the negative numbers mean the ecu is enriching the mixutre
toyota h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 11:49 AM   #7
davidkassie
Senior Member
 
davidkassie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-09
Location: coloma michigan
Posts: 773
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

short term fuel trim, -% means ecu is taking fuel to correct for rich mixture, +% means ecu is adding fuel to correct lean mixture
davidkassie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 11:58 AM   #8
toyota h8r
Senior Member
 
toyota h8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-27-10
Location: sylvania
Posts: 367
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidkassie View Post
short term fuel trim, -% means ecu is taking fuel to correct for rich mixture, +% means ecu is adding fuel to correct lean mixture
yah i was thinking thats what it meant.....also im getting 7.8-8.4% fuel on Long term fuel cell on eway...is that right????

also i noticed my ign advance being weird, all the cars/trucks ive scanned they read negative(retard) at low driving and then full advance at WOT. My truck does some weird crap. At idle it bounces from 18*-20* and under light accel it shoots to 38*. The odd part is under WOT the advance pulls back to 21-23* of timing



Of my driveway:
96 z71(8.4" of vacuum)
01 xtreme(9" of vacuum)
00 sonoma(mine)(10.9" of vacuum)

They all have lower vacuum at idle and get better gas mpg.......only thing left to change is the o2's on the truck and hope to god it fixes it
toyota h8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 01:36 PM   #9
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quit throwing parts at it,and go have it properly diagnosed.
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 01:51 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,226
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IFS SUCKS View Post
Quit throwing parts at it,and go have it properly diagnosed.
X2 just because you take it in to get diagnosed does not mean you have to let them fix it.
__________________
Motors hate me, axles fear me.

I got your jeep thing, now my damn Chevy wont start, and its missing a wheel.
My build: http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=206107
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 01:56 PM   #11
IFS SUCKS
I like trees
 
IFS SUCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-07
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 5,796
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freak View Post
X2 just because you take it in to get diagnosed does not mean you have to let them fix it.
More times then not people come into my dealership after throwing hundreds of dollars at their car,and we end up finding stupid shit like a broken wire.
IFS SUCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 03:06 PM   #12
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 9,706
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

unless I missed it, I see no coolant temp sensor? If you can get ahold of a scanner that does live data, when it is cold see what the coolant temp is, if it doesn't read what temp it is outside, and reads way laower, it is bad and won't always show up as a check engine light.
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 430k
-Down to 3 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1983 Nighthawk 650
-1978 F100
booblinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2011, 07:18 AM   #13
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,384
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I'd check the rear bumper to see if there's a 26' travel trailer back there.


Tell me about your exhaust system - stock?

If you're running in closed-loop, not setting any fuel trim codes (that indicate you have a huge fuel leak into the intake and the ECU is pulling the max amount of fuel out and you're still rich), then it is not fuel related.

Next, your timing sounds about right - it runs off a speed/load map and can look goofy at times.


I'd be interested in what your exhaust backpressure is.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.19843 seconds with 38 queries