Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 25th, 2010, 07:10 AM   #1
beejers
always building
 
beejers's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-18-07
Location: cedar springs
Posts: 940
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Help no oil pressure duramax<stranded

My dads on his way to flordia and lost oil pressure on his 03 duramax.

we change the oil, filter and his fuel filter before he left.
his light came on that said low oil pressure around atlanta georgia.
he checked the oil level, its good.
he had a oil sensor go bad once, it was replaced

how can he manuely check for oil pressure?

Where is that sensor located?

Any ideas?
beejers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 07:23 AM   #2
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,774
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.thedieselplace.com
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 07:41 AM   #3
BAD93SBLZR
HILLBILLYWAY
 
BAD93SBLZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-09
Location: Kawkawlin, Michigan
Posts: 847
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So, you have a message on the cluster right? Does it say LOW OIL PRESSURE or LOW OIL LEVEL? Just trying to clarify, they are two seperate circuits. Also is the check engine light on and does he know the DTCs by chance?
BAD93SBLZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 07:42 AM   #4
beejers
always building
 
beejers's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-18-07
Location: cedar springs
Posts: 940
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

low oil pressure, we checked level.
beejers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 07:51 AM   #5
beejers
always building
 
beejers's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-18-07
Location: cedar springs
Posts: 940
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
thanks, looking right now. was also googleing

it was on the first bar until he slowed down and then went to nothing.

lots of things pop up for a bad sensor
beejers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 10:10 AM   #6
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if it's a common problem of having a bad sensor then that seems to be a likely cause. the quick way i would check since he's on the side of the road is to loosen the oil filter alittle bit then crank it for a few seconds to see if oil sprays out of it. if you get good oil coming out of it then it's most likely a bad sensor.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 10:51 AM   #7
beejers
always building
 
beejers's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-18-07
Location: cedar springs
Posts: 940
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks everyone.
Another way to check for oil flow is to:
check your oil.
make sure its full.
start engine.
take dipstick out and clean off.
check oil while running.
there should be no oil on dipstick=good oil flow.
he is back on the road and headed to Flordia where he will change the sensor

i suggested the oil filter idea too.
beejers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 05:21 PM   #8
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

one other thing to check. if its running and it slowly loses pressure is to shut off the engine and quickly flip the key on without starting it. if the sensor is bad it will read a negative number. if ts an analog gauge it will do back flips in the cluster. oil pressure will build up on the back side of a bad diaphram in a sensor and then when you shut off it goes into reverse. makes the gauge go nuts.

another thing to do is unplug the sensor running. there's no seal to prevent it venting pressure past the connectors on the sensor with it unplugged
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 05:53 PM   #9
beejers
always building
 
beejers's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-18-07
Location: cedar springs
Posts: 940
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it did weird things the rest of the trip. He made it to Florida.
he would have almost no oil pressure when he stopped for diesel, when he takes off it read great. as he was driving down the road it would drop to 30 psi.
beejers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2010, 05:56 PM   #10
BAD93SBLZR
HILLBILLYWAY
 
BAD93SBLZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-05-09
Location: Kawkawlin, Michigan
Posts: 847
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

min oil pressure for that is 24psi
BAD93SBLZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10418 seconds with 32 queries