MJ: Sway Bar on lifted 88 Comanche - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2010, 12:06 AM   #1
arbor153
Member
 
Join Date: 11-08-10
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Question Sway Bar on lifted 88 Comanche

I'm a newbie, and I have a question about an '88 Comanche I'm looking into buying. The ad says the sway bar mounts need to be welded to the axle, but in the pictures I cannot tell where these mounts would weld to or how to mount and connect them. OR if i can even run a sway bar?

Here's what the ad says about steering components: Steering - Teraflex knuckle, 1 3/8" DOM with 3/8" wall, very heavy duty, 3/4x5/8" ruffstuff heims all around. Over the axle trackbar mount.

AND pictures of the area in question:
http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/6348/dsc02579g.jpg
http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/9...1008311747.jpg
http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/4...1008311747.jpg
http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/1...1008311747.jpg

I appreciate any comments or advice!
Thanks for reading!

Last edited by arbor153; November 13th, 2010 at 12:11 AM.
arbor153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 13th, 2010, 07:53 AM   #2
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,500
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

only the first picture works so its hard to see the axle where the sway bar would mount
littletrucker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 08:04 AM   #3
tj84
Member
 
tj84's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-07-07
Location: indiana
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

are those the stock axles under it? i'm only getting one of your pics. it looks like it ,i would think they would weld in the same place as a ckerokee axle.i take it you are going to drive it on and off road ? if it's going to be driven off road only get rid of it .
tj84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 08:33 AM   #4
Jeep_Shaun
Don't Fear The Jeeper
 
Jeep_Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-28-08
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 2,956
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I daily drive my Cherokee, and I completely removed my sway bar.. You don't really need one, I know a lot of other people that removed theirs also.
Jeep_Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 11:48 AM   #5
arbor153
Member
 
Join Date: 11-08-10
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes I plan on using this as as a daily driver as well. The axle is a Dana 30 which i believe is the stock axle?
Here are a couple different links, hopefully they work:
http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/1...1008311747.jpg
http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/9...1008311747.jpg
http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/4...1008311747.jpg

I have heard of people completely tossing out the sway bar, but wouldn't it be better for freeway driving to have one on?

Thanks for the replies!
arbor153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 01:12 PM   #6
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,500
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

its doesnt look like you have a very good track bar to steering bar angle- you want to try to have them exactly the same- you'll like this at freeway speed

the sway bar links were prolly removed when the highsteer arm was installed, the sway bar link probably would hit the newer steering arm- if you wanted to keep the sway bar, you'd prolly have to move it back on the frame an inch or so and try to get it to run up between the coils and the steering

could be easily done- but it depends on what you want to use it for- i have quick disconnects on my front sway bar, and i have drove it around on the road disconnected a lil more sway but its not that bad
littletrucker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 02:54 PM   #7
arbor153
Member
 
Join Date: 11-08-10
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'd like to be able to use this truck on the road as well as off road, including freeway driving. It has quick disconnects and the links, the mounts just need to be welded on. I guess to me it just looks like there's no room to even mount the sway bar links.
But what you're suggesting is to move back the sway bar itself and remount it on the frame?
And with the track bar to steering bar angle, do I want them to be parallel with each other? or as close as i can get?

I've heard mixed reviews on running no sway bar, some people say it's not a big problem and others say their trucks are all over the road.
arbor153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 02:58 PM   #8
go1lum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-03-08
Location: Mesick/Michigan
Posts: 429
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I never had a problem DDing my cherokee with no sways. I didn't like them. Just make sure you have a good HD trac bar should be fine.
go1lum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 03:43 PM   #9
arbor153
Member
 
Join Date: 11-08-10
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Even driving on the highway?
I need to be able to make a 420 mile trip every once in a while, so I have to be sure this thing will handle pretty well.
arbor153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 03:52 PM   #10
go1lum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-03-08
Location: Mesick/Michigan
Posts: 429
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arbor153 View Post
Even driving on the highway?
I need to be able to make a 420 mile trip every once in a while, so I have to be sure this thing will handle pretty well.
Drove mine down the highway all the time.
go1lum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 05:17 PM   #11
littletrucker
I'd hit that
 
littletrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-10
Location: Bear Lake 49614
Posts: 1,500
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you might not have to remount the sway bar i guess, you could run the sway bar links from where its at to the top of the axle it they wont hit the steering arm
littletrucker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 06:42 PM   #12
Jeep_Shaun
Don't Fear The Jeeper
 
Jeep_Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-28-08
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 2,956
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I can run my jeep down the highway all day at 70mph with no sway bar and not have any issues with it at all.
Jeep_Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 07:04 PM   #13
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

My personal and honest opinion is that if you daily drive the vehicle keep it on and invest in disco's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeep_Shaun View Post
I can run my jeep down the highway all day at 70mph with no sway bar and not have any issues with it at all.
ANY car can drive 70mph down the freeway with no sway bar with no problems at all.
but that's not where your sway bar comes into play.

At any given moment ANYTHING can happen to where you may need to maneuver your vehicle in a quick fashion. That will not be safe with out a sway bar. even worse at faster speeds. and worse yet on lifted or modified vehicles.

Bottom line is that's it is not safe for a vehicle that is used primarily for transportation. Compromising your vehicles handling for small gains once a month off road just simply isn't worth it. The price of quality disco's is well worth it. You got to pay to play man.

Here's where i say "just my .02" but I wont because this is just common sense.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2010, 09:29 PM   #14
arbor153
Member
 
Join Date: 11-08-10
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It does have quick disconnects, my only issue is finding where or how to mount them because the high steer gets in the way.
thanks for the help! any more advice or comments would be appreciated!
arbor153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Tags
mj, mount, steering, sway bar, xj

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.25007 seconds with 63 queries