air compressor question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2010, 11:57 PM   #1
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default air compressor question

picked up a used air compressor and it starts runs fine, but wont get over 50 psi.(supposed to be a 176 psi compressor)

It is a 115v oil-less unit

when I drain it down to no pressure it wont automatically fill back up..

What should i be looking for, a bad motor(it does run) or a bad regulator?

think something could be clogged?
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 12th, 2010, 12:14 AM   #2
Bronco Boy
First On Race Day
 
Bronco Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-07
Location: Bridgeton, MI
Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Bronco Boy
Default

there should be a pressure switch between the pump and the regulater take the cover off and tighten the ajustment nut while the pumps running to what you want it to shut off at....... if its got one to adjust
Bronco Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 06:43 AM   #3
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

does it stop running at the low pressure, or does it continue running, but not raise the pressure in the tank?
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 07:21 AM   #4
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota Bill View Post
does it stop running at the low pressure, or does it continue running, but not raise the pressure in the tank?
once it hits 50 psi it turns off and wont run again till it is out
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 02:33 PM   #5
JimNut
Senior Member
 
JimNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-09
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 576
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like your pressure regulator switch is either bad or out of adjustment.
JimNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 09:38 PM   #6
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNut View Post
Sounds like your pressure regulator switch is either bad or out of adjustment.
Well I think it is bad,because I adjusted it and nothing was different

Does anyone know where you can buy these things in s/e mi or do i have to order it online?

I already found it on-line but wanted to try to find it local if i could.
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:27 PM   #7
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I replaced the pressure switch and it is doing the same thing as before,it will not go over 50psi and shuts off.

What else should i be looking for?

I replaced the gauges also,and still nothing

Thanks

Rich
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:34 PM   #8
rubicon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-27-06
Location: Madison Heights
Posts: 498
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

is there a regulator off the out flow? if there is it might be bad or need adjustment
rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:40 PM   #9
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon View Post
is there a regulator off the out flow? if there is it might be bad or need adjustment
Are you referring to the one that the hose goes into?
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:45 PM   #10
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,768
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

How does the motor sound? (Harder to tell on oil-free, as they are loud...), does it sound like its getting up to speed?

Is it belt driven or direct drive? If you remove the belt, does the motor sound better?

Not a AC motor experct, but they are usually capacitor start, that will have a start circuit and run circuit. sometimes the capacitor is bad and they can't get fast enough to trigger the switch to kick into run.


You could try bypassing the regulator and wiring the motor hard to a plug, and see if it'll run up to pressure then.

I had my compressor do very similar, but it was a problem your's couldn't have, I lost 1 leg of my 220, so it was running 110 (the 1nd leg blew out the wire and grounded itself). It would run up to full speed with no pressure/load, but coulnd't get over 25psi or so with load...
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 10:20 PM   #11
mideerslayer
NEVER GIVE UP!
 
mideerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-27-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,848
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
How does the motor sound? (Harder to tell on oil-free, as they are loud...), does it sound like its getting up to speed?

Is it belt driven or direct drive? If you remove the belt, does the motor sound better?

Not a AC motor experct, but they are usually capacitor start, that will have a start circuit and run circuit. sometimes the capacitor is bad and they can't get fast enough to trigger the switch to kick into run.


You could try bypassing the regulator and wiring the motor hard to a plug, and see if it'll run up to pressure then.

I had my compressor do very similar, but it was a problem your's couldn't have, I lost 1 leg of my 220, so it was running 110 (the 1nd leg blew out the wire and grounded itself). It would run up to full speed with no pressure/load, but coulnd't get over 25psi or so with load...
Thanks for the info

It does seem to run up to speed,it just hits that 50psi mark and shuts off

I had one just like it a few years ago and it sounds just like the other one I had.

It is belt driven

I have replaced all the connections,pipes,hoses,etc

Something is telling me there is something turning the motor off,but when i ran it direct it runs for ever.

The only thing I can think off is the regulator that the hose goes into,that you can control the pressure to the tools might be bad?
mideerslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 10:33 PM   #12
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mideerslayer View Post
Thanks for the info

It does seem to run up to speed,it just hits that 50psi mark and shuts off

I had one just like it a few years ago and it sounds just like the other one I had.

It is belt driven

I have replaced all the connections,pipes,hoses,etc

Something is telling me there is something turning the motor off,but when i ran it direct it runs for ever.

The only thing I can think off is the regulator that the hose goes into,that you can control the pressure to the tools might be bad?
that regulator is after the tank, and should not affect the motor running/tank pressure in any way...mine failed, so I just removed it (almost never turn it down anyway)

so you ran the motor direct to an outlet and it ran non stop and built full pressure, correct?

is the motor getting hot? I'm thinking its a thermal shut down switch problem, either the motor is getting too hot, or the thermal switch has failed and shutting it down at a lower temperature...that is, assuming it has a thermal shut down on it.

does the motor have a built in breaker? is that tripping at all?
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 11:08 AM   #13
rubicon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-27-06
Location: Madison Heights
Posts: 498
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mideerslayer View Post
Are you referring to the one that the hose goes into?
That would be the one I am talking about just wonering where your reading of 50 PSI is coming form fwd or aft of the regulator. If it is aft there might be more than 50 PSI in the tank but not getting past the regulator.
rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21936 seconds with 60 queries