99 grand Prix fuel pump?? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 1st, 2010, 08:03 PM   #1
Marc H.
Redreck Cadillac
 
Marc H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 772
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 99 grand Prix fuel pump??

My buddy's car died on the road. He says it's the fuel pump, did the pounding on the tank trick and it fired up. But it stopped working again and won't start this time.

My question is if I go to work on this thing at his house ( no tools there) can I get to the tank thru the truck or do I need to bring it home and drop the tank?
Marc H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 1st, 2010, 09:17 PM   #2
hamsmotorsports
Senior Member
 
hamsmotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-09
Location: hazel park mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

i think that ome of them gp's had a access hole under the rear seat, not in the trunk
hamsmotorsports is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2010, 09:22 PM   #3
jeepitupyo
MMM Shrimp Slushy
 
jeepitupyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-23-06
Location: Flint 48507
Posts: 1,979
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepitupyo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc H. View Post
My buddy's car died on the road. He says it's the fuel pump, did the pounding on the tank trick and it fired up. But it stopped working again and won't start this time.

My question is if I go to work on this thing at his house ( no tools there) can I get to the tank thru the truck or do I need to bring it home and drop the tank?
I think your best bet might be to try to access it through the car not through a truck.
__________________
05 Silverado Crew Z71
00 XJ BDS Long Arms 35's
Beelby & Sons Towing
St. Pierre Inc. Machining and Welding
jeepitupyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2010, 09:30 PM   #4
unluckyal
i like to party
 
unluckyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: waterford
Posts: 580
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

is it a gtp? if it is they have a 2 stage pump and there a resistor....i cant remember where i wanna say bolted to quarter panel but it is white and shaped like a horseshoe kinda smooshed together. anywho they are prone to cracking and it shuts off the pump - i had a go around with one of those a couple years ago.
unluckyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2010, 10:02 PM   #5
Marc H.
Redreck Cadillac
 
Marc H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 772
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't think it's a GTP, I will have him look under the rear seat and the trunk carpet for an access panel. Thanks guys and I will look for a resistor too.
Marc H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2010, 10:10 PM   #6
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,792
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Even my buddies non GTP had the resistor, his just died on the road 2 months back.

search on here, there was another theread on this a few months ago. Or just google grand prix fuel pump resistor, and tons of pages will come up.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2010, 10:46 PM   #7
s.hembree
Senior Member
 
s.hembree's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-16-07
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,439
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

There is an access panel inside the truck just behind the rear seat.
s.hembree is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2010, 09:57 AM   #8
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 220
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yup, access in the trunk.

The resistor is easily bypassed, after owning 4 W-bodies, I've got it memorized.

Open the underhood fuse panel
Find the Relay labeled "Fuel Pump Speed Control"
Remove the Relay and hold it in your hand with the pins facing up, so that it looks like the letter "C"

I I

I

I I

Bend / cut the pin in the lower right hand corner.
Put the relay back into it's spot.
Drive home!

That locks the fuel pump in high speed mode (GM did this in 01 after all the resistor failures. No problems after 5 years of driving like that on my Regal)

-Rob
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2010, 11:47 AM   #9
bigdogwaggy
Senior Member
 
bigdogwaggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-09
Location: s.w. michigan
Posts: 950
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if it is the pump it is easy to change, climb in the back seat fold down the arm rest and pull the carpet in the trunk back and there is an acess panel right there take the 6 or so nuts off and pry the cover off and you are looking at the top of the tank/pump..
bigdogwaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2010, 12:58 PM   #10
gp320
Member
 
Join Date: 06-10-10
Location: Fenton,MI
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

^^^ he beat me to it....been there done it lol

Last edited by gp320; July 2nd, 2010 at 01:01 PM.
gp320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2010, 01:00 PM   #11
gp320
Member
 
Join Date: 06-10-10
Location: Fenton,MI
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
Yup, access in the trunk.

The resistor is easily bypassed, after owning 4 W-bodies, I've got it memorized.

Open the underhood fuse panel
Find the Relay labeled "Fuel Pump Speed Control"
Remove the Relay and hold it in your hand with the pins facing up, so that it looks like the letter "C"

I I

I

I I

Bend / cut the pin in the lower right hand corner.
Put the relay back into it's spot.
Drive home!

That locks the fuel pump in high speed mode (GM did this in 01 after all the resistor failures. No problems after 5 years of driving like that on my Regal)

-Rob
i was gonna say the same thing but thought itd be a world of confusion good explanation by the way... got love what they did with the w-bodys before 01 my 97 had extra harnesses extra wiring etc lol
gp320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 10:21 AM   #12
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 220
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It was nice because they used only a couple of body harnesses for all the options. I added passenger power seat, HUD, and a few other factory options to my old Regal just by plugging into the spare plugs in the harness.
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18265 seconds with 57 queries