383 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2010, 09:37 AM   #1
88K5Blazer
Team Misstress Mud Racing
 
88K5Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-17-10
Location: Muskegon, MI
Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 383

Will the stock crank and rods from a small block 400 work to start on my 383 or do i need different length rods also can i build one using a tbi block and one more if i change the intake on my tbi motor and run a carb can i still use the stock distributor thanks
88K5Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:03 AM   #2
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You also have to bore is .030 over to get a 383, if you don't you'll have a 377. As for rods, long is better! http://www.chevymania.com/chevymania/tech/rod.htm. You can't use a tbi block, and I'd switch to carb rather than tbi. Yes the distributor wont work either.

Last edited by Hoss Blazer; June 25th, 2010 at 11:56 AM.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:13 AM   #3
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Honestly, you're probably better off buying a stroker crank from Summit/etc. By the time you get the machine work done on the 400 crank to make it work, you're still using an old used crank, and you probably have just about as much $ into it that a new one would be.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:28 AM   #4
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,081
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I thought the 400 crank had to be machichned to fit in the 350 journals?
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2010, 10:54 AM   #5
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you can't use a 400 crank in a 350 block unless you get it turned to 350 journal size. you can't use a 400 crank in a 87 and newer TBI block due to the newer 1 piece RMS. you can however use 400 rods if you want to retain stock 350 pistons. you can't use a TBI distributor on a carbed engine it will run like shit without the electronic inputs. the advance curve is based off TPS, coolant temp, map pressure among other things.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.08436 seconds with 36 queries