best cam for 406 SBC in the mud - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2010, 10:31 AM   #1
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default best cam for 406 SBC in the mud

I'm after serious "GRUNT", 10.5 TO 1, Dart Iron Eagles 72 cc 185 runners, 1.94's, Fast burn chambers, 1 5/8 long tubes,probably 5:13's/40's, 2200 stall/th400/205 for now. I'm sure somebody's running a 406 out there.
Thanks

Last edited by ssdeuces; June 16th, 2010 at 10:36 AM. Reason: added info
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 16th, 2010, 10:37 AM   #2
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

also...whats the trick to keep th400 in the lower gears? manual valve body?
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 01:04 PM   #3
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Are you looking for a Hydraulic Flat Tappet or Hydraulic Roller and what RPM range are you looking at??

Also what size carb and i would assume dual plane intake cause you want grunt?

Ya the only way to keep a TH400 from shifting is to put a manual valve body in them. They will shift no matter what ya do to them. The TH350 if you put them in any gear other than drive it will stay in that gear.

I also have desktop dyno if you want a round about rating for your engine!

Last edited by Hoss Blazer; June 16th, 2010 at 01:20 PM.
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 03:26 PM   #4
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Since the engine isn't on my stand yet I don't know even the exact compression. I'm sure a flattappet will be plenty good. And less $$$. I have a ZZ4 roller laying here but seems like the older blocks won't take GM roller lifters...am I wrong? I'm planning a 2200 stall so 2000-5500 in rpm. I have two dual planes...ZZ3 GMPP and a brand new Performer. 650 Holley or Edelbrock 1406, have plenty of q-jets and a Carter AFB. Also have TPI w/computer, harness BUT I didn't think it would support the HP. If it will...I'll run it and pick my cam with it in mind....
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 03:46 PM   #5
BigBlockBlazer
Axle breakin' 101
 
BigBlockBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-08-08
Location: Traverse City, Mi
Posts: 2,342
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

This motor is the perfect candidate for propane injection. Yes Hoss I'm trying to convert everyone.
BigBlockBlazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 03:47 PM   #6
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The best thing you can do, is call the cam manufacturer of your choice, and get a custom ground cam. Have everything else picked out, then call. A custom ground cam is usually little to no more costly than an off the shelf, but you will be much better off.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2010, 04:03 PM   #7
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,776
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

For TH400 information:
The DEFINITIVE TH400 valve body / shift kit thread... - Pirate4x4.Com Bulletin Board

Depending on what you want it to do, you may or may not have to buy a valve body.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2010, 11:11 AM   #8
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95geo View Post
For TH400 information: The DEFINITIVE TH400 valve body / shift kit thread... - Pirate4x4.Com Bulletin Board

Depending on what you want it to do, you may or may not have to buy a valve body.
THANX...that is some very good info...now I know what to buy.
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 12:00 PM   #9
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,830
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I would do a hyd. roller, may cost a little more up front would would be way worth it. Probably would have to run aftermarket linked lifters. X2 on the custom cam. I like Comps XFI roller lobes but they need good parts.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 12:05 PM   #10
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,830
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Also......if this is a dedicated mud truck your gonna want more stall. I would do a 10" maybe 3800 or so.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2010, 01:16 PM   #11
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

what will an S10 t/c stall at behind a 406? Wouldn't it be near 3000? I'm waiting on Comp Cams recommendation right now and Hoss is running Decktop Dyno for me too. VERY limited funds on this. I'm trying to use leftovers from other projects on the build.
Thanks!
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 03:43 AM   #12
AFRd_CJ5
Senior Member
 
AFRd_CJ5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City
Posts: 705
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssdeuces View Post
what will an S10 t/c stall at behind a 406? Wouldn't it be near 3000? I'm waiting on Comp Cams recommendation right now and Hoss is running Decktop Dyno for me too. VERY limited funds on this. I'm trying to use leftovers from other projects on the build.
Thanks!
No, I don't know of any factory GM converters that would stall anywhere near 3,000RPM. You'd have to either take a chance at finding a cheap used converter, or get a cheap Summit/etc. and hope they work decent.
AFRd_CJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2010, 05:30 PM   #13
Hoss Blazer
!SPARTY ON!
 
Hoss Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-25-07
Location: Boyne City Michigan
Posts: 2,584
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssdeuces View Post
what will an S10 t/c stall at behind a 406? Wouldn't it be near 3000? I'm waiting on Comp Cams recommendation right now and Hoss is running Decktop Dyno for me too. VERY limited funds on this. I'm trying to use leftovers from other projects on the build.
Thanks!
I'm gonna be buying this torque convertor and trying it. I talked to the tech guy there and he recommened this one for my application. BBC w/ torque ban up to 5,800rpm, TH350/NP205, 4.10 gear ratio.

http://www.accperformance.com/Products/index.html
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/APE-47012/
Hoss Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2010, 05:43 PM   #14
ssdeuces
Senior Member
 
ssdeuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-13-10
Location: Grass Lk Mi
Posts: 725
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Well...I have some time before this 406 will be thriving in my mudder...Please let me know how well it works, sounds like it might work for me as well....and THANX for the bump stick help!
ssdeuces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2010, 05:58 PM   #15
cj65
Senior Member
 
cj65's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-07-07
Location: 48174
Posts: 3,887
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

IMO i would not use a hyd tappet cam. get either a solid flat tappet or solid rollercam. IF you ever need more rpm you dont have to worry about valve float ,and has way better throttle response. just my.02
cj65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23216 seconds with 67 queries