Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 3rd, 2010, 01:52 PM   #1
Blksnshn69
Senior Member
 
Blksnshn69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-15-08
Location: Muskegon Michigan
Posts: 401
iTrader: (2)
03 TrailBlazer Headlight issue

I'm working on a friends Trailblazer and it is having some odd headlamp issues. High beams work fine but low beams work when they want too. Sometimes both are out, Sometimes one or the other is out and sometimes both are on. I swapped the HDM relay with no luck and also inspected the fuses and bulbs.
When I pull and replace the fuses the lights will work but then once turned off and back on one or the other will be out. I'm thinking headlamp control module but I do not have a scan tool to really get into it.
Blksnshn69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 09:24 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,382
iTrader: (10)
its that or the grounds to the harness are going bad. check the break outs under the hood where they mount on the core support and inner fenders. you may find one that is just a couple strands of wire. if so redo it and it should fix the issue.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 11:58 PM   #3
Blksnshn69
Senior Member
 
Blksnshn69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-15-08
Location: Muskegon Michigan
Posts: 401
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yetti View Post
its that or the grounds to the harness are going bad. check the break outs under the hood where they mount on the core support and inner fenders. you may find one that is just a couple strands of wire. if so redo it and it should fix the issue.
Thanks for the suggestion. I traced as many of the wires as I could, Did a good shake down of the harness to see if they flickered or shut off. But nothing, Once I got both the lights to come on the last time I wasn't able to reproduce the issue. I think it really needs to be scanned to see if there are any DTC's and to monitor what the BCM is telling it to do once the problem resurfaces.
Blksnshn69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2010, 10:54 PM   #4
lil_freak_66
Mudspace.com Rep
 
lil_freak_66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-09
Location: Holt MI
Posts: 322
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to lil_freak_66 Send a message via Yahoo to lil_freak_66 Send a message via Skype™ to lil_freak_66
this is a very rare occurrence,only heard of it happening once before.

check www.trailvoy.com for troubleshooting,if you cant find what your looking for using the search button,post a thread and then message someone named the roadie,he knows everything about the gmt 360.
lil_freak_66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08283 seconds with 20 queries