Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 24th, 2010, 10:46 PM   #1
McJesse
Newbie
 
McJesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-10
Location: Battle Ground/WA
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Exclamation I need help!!!!! Newbie!!!

Ok so i bought this SkyJacker 6.5" lift on craigslist i got the coils,shocks,
3" blocks for the back, and 3.5" shackles for the back.is there anything else i would need?
This is a lift for a Jeep Cherokee XJ



Also another thing, I really don't know how to install a lift kit and the guy didn't give any instructions on how to do it.



If anyone out there knows how to do this please message me back i would really appreciate it and you would save the day for me
McJesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 10:48 PM   #2
Denton
Brush Yo Teeth!
 
Denton's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-07
Location: Westphalia
Posts: 1,733
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

oh boy! where to start.......
your gonna need control arms, tracbar, swaybar disconnects, SYE and driveshaft or transfer case drop, longer brake lines

I would never lift the back of the jeep that high with what you have


you might be better off buying my stuff on here

Suspension Part(s): XJ 4.5 inch lift leaf springs, coil springs, front shocks, lower control arms $300 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Last edited by Denton; May 24th, 2010 at 10:55 PM.
Denton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 10:57 PM   #3
NSmist
Senior Member
 
NSmist's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 1,538
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to NSmist
Default

Basically what he ^ said. Are you upgrading an existing lift or are you starting from stock?

3" blocks and 3.5" shackles are definitely asking for trouble. You should probably look into new coil packs if your lifting that much.
NSmist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 11:44 PM   #4
McJesse
Newbie
 
McJesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-10
Location: Battle Ground/WA
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSmist View Post
Basically what he ^ said. Are you upgrading an existing lift or are you starting from stock?

3" blocks and 3.5" shackles are definitely asking for trouble. You should probably look into new coil packs if your lifting that much.
Well it already has a lift on it but i want to take it all off and then just start from there.

oh and yeah im getting a t-case drop from the guy.
so i wont need all that other stuff that denton told me will I? if i'm getting a t-case drop?
McJesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 11:53 PM   #5
disorder xj
Happy,happy,joy,joy
 
disorder xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-06
Location: Mio MI.
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McJesse View Post
Well it already has a lift on it but i want to take it all off and then just start from there.

oh and yeah im getting a t-case drop from the guy.
so i wont need all that other stuff that denton told me will I? if i'm getting a t-case drop?
everything but the sye kit.
disorder xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 12:01 AM   #6
McJesse
Newbie
 
McJesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-10
Location: Battle Ground/WA
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disorder xj View Post
everything but the sye kit.
What's an sye kit?
sorry about this i'm learning
McJesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 12:18 AM   #7
Jeep_Shaun
That 1 Jeep Guy..
 
Jeep_Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-28-08
Location: Spring Lake, MI
Posts: 2,917
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Slip yoke eliminator
Jeep_Shaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 02:29 AM   #8
6spdWillys
An Army of fun.
 
6spdWillys's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-02-07
Location: curtice,ohio
Posts: 718
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McJesse View Post
What's an sye kit?
sorry about this i'm learning
Slip Yoke Eliminator replaces the splined shaft that comes out of your stock Transfer case, and replaces it with a U-joint yoke. You will need to replace your driveshaft as well, with a two piece sliding shaft with a double cardan unit on the front.

You've got a lot of parts to collect yet.
6spdWillys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 03:18 AM   #9
NSmist
Senior Member
 
NSmist's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Pontiac, MI
Posts: 1,538
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to NSmist
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McJesse View Post
Well it already has a lift on it but i want to take it all off and then just start from there.

oh and yeah im getting a t-case drop from the guy.
so i wont need all that other stuff that denton told me will I? if i'm getting a t-case drop?
Pardon my mistake, I meant new "leaf" packs for the back.

What kind of a lift do you have on it now? Do you have newer lower control arms or are you running just stock with bigger coils?

T-Case drops are usually a cheap way of avoiding the need for a modified drive shaft. I run a dropped case on my 3" lift and go wheelin'. Nothing wrong with it, but if you're really doing hard hard stuff, you're trying to maximize ground clearance. For lift's 4.5" and up, you should really be looking at SYE's.

Take a look at other lift kits on the market. You may have bought pieces, but you can always buy separate parts to finish said lift.

Last edited by NSmist; May 25th, 2010 at 03:23 AM.
NSmist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:06 AM   #10
RubberSideDown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-25-10
Location: Swanton
Posts: 116
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

With a 6" lift I think you really need a sye if you plan on wheelin it. The reason is to keep your rear drive shaft from fallin out on the trail. Trust me putting the drive shaft back in when your in a mud hole is NOT much fun.
good luck
RubberSideDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:27 AM   #11
kareless
Dirty Little Girl!
 
kareless's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-07
Location: Harrison, Mi
Posts: 4,248
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubberSideDown View Post
With a 6" lift I think you really need a sye if you plan on wheelin it. The reason is to keep your rear drive shaft from fallin out on the trail. Trust me putting the drive shaft back in when your in a mud hole is NOT much fun.
good luck
Your rear drive shaft will not fall out if you do not have an sye with that lift. One of our xjs has a 6.5 inch lift with stock control arms and no sye. You also do not absolutely need quick disco's. None of our jeeps have sway bars and all but one get daily driven. Before you jump in and buy everything people are suggesting, do some reading, I am sure there is all kinds of info in the jeep tech section...
kareless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:32 AM   #12
Rockstar
sɐƃǝʌ sɐן
 
Rockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-07
Location: Taylor,Mi
Posts: 8,492
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Welcome Noob
Rockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:37 AM   #13
whyme86
Senior Member
 
whyme86's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-09
Location: Newcomerstown OH
Posts: 338
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubberSideDown View Post
With a 6" lift I think you really need a sye if you plan on wheelin it. The reason is to keep your rear drive shaft from fallin out on the trail. Trust me putting the drive shaft back in when your in a mud hole is NOT much fun.
good luck
Quote:
Originally Posted by kareless View Post
Your rear drive shaft will not fall out if you do not have an sye with that lift. One of our xjs has a 6.5 inch lift with stock control arms and no sye. You also do not absolutely need quick disco's. None of our jeeps have sway bars and all but one get daily driven. Before you jump in and buy everything people are suggesting, do some reading, I am sure there is all kinds of info in the jeep tech section...
if you are gonna wheel it and twist it up i would get a sye kit because more than likely your driveshaft will be on the ground
whyme86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:45 AM   #14
kareless
Dirty Little Girl!
 
kareless's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-07
Location: Harrison, Mi
Posts: 4,248
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whyme86 View Post
if you are gonna wheel it and twist it up i would get a sye kit because more than likely your driveshaft will be on the ground
come wheel with us, try to keep up and let me know if our drive shaft ever falls out
kareless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 10:53 AM   #15
90Notch306
Senior Member
 
90Notch306's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-10
Location: Waterford, Mi
Posts: 723
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kareless View Post
come wheel with us, try to keep up and let me know if our drive shaft ever falls out
I agree with you that you dont need an SYE. I have a 98 xj with a 6.5" Rustys lift and no SYE. Ive completely flexed it out and never had any issues with the driveshaft. And i dont have any vibrations either.
90Notch306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:25 AM   #16
McJesse
Newbie
 
McJesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-10
Location: Battle Ground/WA
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kareless View Post
Your rear drive shaft will not fall out if you do not have an sye with that lift. One of our xjs has a 6.5 inch lift with stock control arms and no sye. You also do not absolutely need quick disco's. None of our jeeps have sway bars and all but one get daily driven. Before you jump in and buy everything people are suggesting, do some reading, I am sure there is all kinds of info in the jeep tech section...
so you're saying pretty much it'll work without having to get anything? well i mean wont i just need to get drop brackets and extended brakelines??
McJesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:41 AM   #17
jeepnxj96
Senior Member
 
jeepnxj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: Allegan,Mi
Posts: 2,976
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 90Notch306 View Post
I agree with you that you dont need an SYE. I have a 98 xj with a 6.5" Rustys lift and no SYE. Ive completely flexed it out and never had any issues with the driveshaft. And i dont have any vibrations either.
x3......I would have to agree, I run an 8" lift on mine with only a 1" t-case drop and factory drive shaft......I may not wheel the hardest out there but I have fun pushing my heep as far as I dare and the last thing I really worry about is my rear drive shaft failing. the d30 is what i worry about oh yeah and the snap of 8.25 axle shafts
jeepnxj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #18
kareless
Dirty Little Girl!
 
kareless's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-07
Location: Harrison, Mi
Posts: 4,248
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McJesse View Post
so you're saying pretty much it'll work without having to get anything? well i mean wont i just need to get drop brackets and extended brakelines??
Yes you need to drop the tcase and you can either relocate the breaklines or if that dont work you can get the extended brakelines... What I am saying is that you dont have to have an sye. They are nice but not an absolute...
kareless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 11:45 AM   #19
jeepnxj96
Senior Member
 
jeepnxj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: Allegan,Mi
Posts: 2,976
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

stock yj brake hoses on the calipers on the front work great, and they are available at any parts store if for some reason you wreck one. I put those on and straigtened the hard line, (mostly because my front droops way out) and at static hieght with wheels turned to full lock either way, have plent of slack for flex
jeepnxj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2010, 03:06 PM   #20
McJesse
Newbie
 
McJesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-10
Location: Battle Ground/WA
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok jeepnxj96 and kareless just to make things straight, i don't need to get like a new trac. bar, control arms, sway bars,and so on? all i need is extended brakelines or just longer lines, and then a T-Case drop? and i found out i am getting a T-Case drop from this guy. So all i need is the extended brake lines and ill be good? If so what is the caster? going to be like?
McJesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.32569 seconds with 53 queries