e4od problems - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2010, 11:56 PM   #1
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default e4od problems

Well, I went to take my truck out for a test drive to test all the fun parts the other day, and everything went well except for a exhaust leak.

Well I ended up ripping the whole exhaust off and putting on new headers and a 3" system with no cat for now.

FYI it is a 95 f150 5.8 and it hasn't been running for over a year, due to engine replacement and 1 ton upgrades.

Well I went to take the truck out again after the new exhaust was on and the truck did not want to shift into 2nd gear. It finally did with a bang and bucked me prety hard and the OD light started flashing and the check engine light came on.

Pulled the code and it was for a bad MLPS. I went to pull it off to clean the thing, and it came off in pieces.
I put a new one on, but it is still doing the same thing.

Any ideas?
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 11th, 2010, 12:15 AM   #2
MilwaukeeF350
Dan
 
Join Date: 05-31-09
Location: Alpena/ Trenton
Posts: 888
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Is Speedometer stay straight or it bounce like this. YouTube- trouble with Ford speedometer it bounce itself.

then check vss sensor, tone ring on gear, and wiring on vss sensor.
MilwaukeeF350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 12:18 AM   #3
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,862
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camccardell View Post
Well, I went to take my truck out for a test drive to test all the fun parts the other day, and everything went well except for a exhaust leak.

Well I ended up ripping the whole exhaust off and putting on new headers and a 3" system with no cat for now.

FYI it is a 95 f150 5.8 and it hasn't been running for over a year, due to engine replacement and 1 ton upgrades.

Well I went to take the truck out again after the new exhaust was on and the truck did not want to shift into 2nd gear. It finally did with a bang and bucked me prety hard and the OD light started flashing and the check engine light came on.

Pulled the code and it was for a bad MLPS. I went to pull it off to clean the thing, and it came off in pieces.
I put a new one on, but it is still doing the same thing.

Any ideas?
Was there a speed sensor (on the top of the pig) on the rear differential that you removed? Does the new rear dif have that sensor? If not, there is your problem.


*edit I just looked at your build thread, it looks like it is plugged in.

x2 on what milwaukeeF350 said

Last edited by Tranny Tom; April 11th, 2010 at 12:24 AM.
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 03:49 AM   #4
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Did you get a NEW one and redo the plug end, or a new to you from a junk yard and just slap it in?
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2010, 11:43 PM   #5
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I left the sensor that was on the axle when I got it, and installed a new pigtail since I broke the original off when I tried to pull it from the 8.8

I can go get the sensor from the 8.8 and swap em out. See what happens.

I watched the video and it isn't doing anything like that. When I was up around 50mph it would sway left and right by a few mph, but no more than 3 or 4.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 11:26 PM   #6
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

no change. Open to suggestions
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 12:08 PM   #7
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

well I'm still getting a 452 code and I purchased a new sensor. Still nothing changed.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 09:16 AM   #8
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,862
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camccardell View Post
well I'm still getting a 452 code and I purchased a new sensor. Still nothing changed.
What is the definition of the 452 code? I just looked it up and it is telling me it's for a low fuel pressure.

Did you replace the connector for the mlps when you changed it? is the wiring corroded? Did you forget to hook up a ground when you put everything back together?
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #9
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,240
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

if you go to fullsizebronco.com theres tons of info for these e4od i had alot of problems in the wireing and they had all the info to sort it out.
masterbeatty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2010, 05:16 PM   #10
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

code means little or no responce from the VSS

posted on the fsb site as well, and it is looking like it might be the engine computer.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 10:10 AM   #11
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,240
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

did you check the wires to and from by chance. Maby one is pinched or you have a bad ground somewhere.
masterbeatty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:09 PM   #12
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

yep, I did and contnuity looks good. I would check the pcm, but I do not have a breakout box.

thanks though
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.61025 seconds with 57 queries