pontiac fiero - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:19 PM   #1
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default pontiac fiero

has any one on here done any thing sweet to their fiero or seen a sweet one?
i own a gt
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:21 PM   #2
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

http://www.xceedspeed.com/forums/
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:23 PM   #3
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

All I did was convert my automatic to a 5 speed, rebuilt the 2.8 - stroked it to a 3.2 and put 17" wheels and tires on it.

That is it.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:23 PM   #4
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I put mine on a Samurai chassis.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #5
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexin' XJ View Post
All I did was convert my automatic to a 5 speed, rebuilt the 2.8 - stroked it to a 3.2 and put 17" wheels and tires on it.

That is it.
is it a lot faster stroked?
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:26 PM   #6
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im lookin for ways to make it faster with out spending a lot of money
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:26 PM   #7
greygoose
I'm the dude
 
greygoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: New Baltimore / Presque Isle
Posts: 6,081
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexin' XJ View Post
All I did was convert my automatic to a 5 speed, rebuilt the 2.8 - stroked it to a 3.2 and put 17" wheels and tires on it.

That is it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddinman56 View Post
is it a lot faster stroked?
Isn't the 2.8 the same as the 3.1 and the 3.4? If so, why not go all the way to 3.4?
greygoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #8
gehtowheeler
what dreams are made of
 
gehtowheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-03-07
Location: davison
Posts: 468
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to gehtowheeler
Default

i have seen a 305 in one
gehtowheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #9
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im not sure on the 3.4 deal
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:28 PM   #10
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I only had it for a few weeks before I tore it apart. Then it sat for over a year due to having no money. When I finally got it going it ran great but I don't know what the comparison would be. It seemed pretty quick and I could beat my friend who had one with a stock 2.8.

Fastest I had it was about 115 based on tach reading since the speedo only went to 85.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:28 PM   #11
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i wanna throw a 327 or 350 in it but it seams like to much work lol
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:29 PM   #12
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greygoose View Post
Isn't the 2.8 the same as the 3.1 and the 3.4? If so, why not go all the way to 3.4?
They are the same block and possibly heads but the bore and stroke are obviously different.

Why not go to a 3.4? The stroker kit was a lot more money, and you need to get the block sonic tested for wall thickness.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:31 PM   #13
Disco Stocker
№ ℮ Ђ ώқ Θה ς├│ﺝ
 
Disco Stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-30-06
Location: Lansing, Mi
Posts: 1,315
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Do a 3800 supercharged swap.
Disco Stocker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:32 PM   #14
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muddinman56 View Post
i wanna throw a 327 or 350 in it but it seams like to much work lol
It depends on which kit you go with. There are really only two kits. V8 Archies and another one I can't think of.

Archies kit balances the v8 better in the car, but your waterpump is running inside your wheelwell instead of the engine compartment. The other kit moves the engine over and lets the waterpump stay inside the engine compartment, but the weight distribution is off.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 01:35 PM   #15
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,493
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disco Stocker View Post
Do a 3800 supercharged swap.
x2 I have thought ALOT about getting one. A friend of mine has had a gt since the early 90's. He still likes it alot.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:02 PM   #16
muddinman56
blood,sweat and beers
 
muddinman56's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-08
Location: armada michigan
Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

how hard is the 3800 swap?
and how would i ram air this car
muddinman56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:03 PM   #17
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greygoose View Post
Isn't the 2.8 the same as the 3.1 and the 3.4? If so, why not go all the way to 3.4?
Yes. You can just buy a crate 3.4 and call it done.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:06 PM   #18
EASY STEP
Senior Member
 
EASY STEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-09
Location: HOME IS CADILLAC MI, WORK IS IN ELKHART INDIANA USA
Posts: 312
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have installed a 350 small block chevy in one
awesome burn out street machine!
EASY STEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:09 PM   #19
scramblerman72
Moonlight stomper
 
scramblerman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 5,942
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to scramblerman72 Send a message via MSN to scramblerman72 Send a message via Yahoo to scramblerman72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
Yes. You can just buy a crate 3.4 and call it done.
X2

that's what we did to my dads S-10 when it needed a motor bought a used 3.4 from a Camaro with 20k on it was a big improvement over the 2.8
scramblerman72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 02:15 PM   #20
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

My pal Dave has one with a 350 vette engine in it. he didn't get it out of warranty back in `82 before ripping the turd 4 banger out and tossing it. he has the kit that offsets the engine and trans over to clear the frame rail on the pulley side. I remember cause he said he had to change the shafts going to the wheels
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Tags
mullets, no teeth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27327 seconds with 81 queries