AMC 304/TF727 combo? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 18th, 2010, 03:01 PM   #1
orionn
Senior Member
 
orionn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-15-05
Location: Ypsilanti
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default AMC 304/TF727 combo?

Has anyone here put an TF727 behind an AMC 304 V8?

If so, what stall torque converter did you use (its a lockup converter trans).

I know these came behind the AMC 360 V8's, but why not the 304?
Is it just becouse AMC felt the 727 was too heavy duty for a CJ so it just went into the heavier Wagoneers?

Anyone know why I should not do this? (727/304 combo)

Thanks

Last edited by orionn; February 19th, 2010 at 12:17 AM.
orionn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 19th, 2010, 12:17 AM   #2
orionn
Senior Member
 
orionn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-15-05
Location: Ypsilanti
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Anyone have input?

I am prepairing to do this in the next few weeks to get my '71 Jeepster Commando back up and running. (it caught fire just befor last Thanksgiving ) and I need to order a lockup Torque converter.
orionn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 10:34 AM   #3
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Your flexplate is dual-patterned, correct? The 86ish-down OEM style flexplates were. Cheapo aftermarket jobs and the later OEM units are not.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 07:16 PM   #4
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Isn't your 71 a passenger side drop? What transfer case are you planning on running with the 727?

If it's a Dana 300, then you're going to run into the issue of the front drive shaft being really close to the buldge in the passenger side of the 727 case/pan.

What tranny & t-case are/were in the 71?
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:39 PM   #5
orionn
Senior Member
 
orionn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-15-05
Location: Ypsilanti
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PavementPounder View Post
Your flexplate is dual-patterned, correct? The 86ish-down OEM style flexplates were. Cheapo aftermarket jobs and the later OEM units are not.
Yes mine is an OEM dual pattern flexplate.


Quote:
Originally Posted by amundaza View Post
Isn't your 71 a passenger side drop? What transfer case are you planning on running with the 727?

If it's a Dana 300, then you're going to run into the issue of the front drive shaft being really close to the buldge in the passenger side of the 727 case/pan.

What tranny & t-case are/were in the 71?
Yes, passenger side drop frt axle. Its a stock D27
It currently has a t150/D20 trans/t-case combo in it. Only the D20 was stock,
They came with TH400/D20 combos factory. I could use a TH400, but they really suck up the HP just to make them run, and I was hoping to make it a little more highway friendly using the lockup torque converter.

I had read that there can be clearence issues using the 727 on a passenger drop axle, but the reality is, this wont be driven offroad, so I probably wont even put the driveshaft back on and just leave it 2wd. but the option would be there if someone were to decide to do that.

I have a purpose built '71 commando for wheeling, and this '71 is for driving.

thanks
orionn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 10:27 PM   #6
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionn View Post

Yes, passenger side drop frt axle. Its a stock D27

I had read that there can be clearence issues using the 727 on a passenger drop axle, but the reality is, this wont be driven offroad, so I probably wont even put the driveshaft back on and just leave it 2wd. but the option would be there if someone were to decide to do that.
I looked at a TF727/D300 combo yesterday in a CJ7 ... the driveshaft is about 1" below the buldge in the tranny pan, going the PSD front axle. He's had a few issues where it has rubbed under spring compression.

If you're going go 2WD on the 71, why mess with a t-case? Why not just run a RWD tranny?
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 11:39 AM   #7
orionn
Senior Member
 
orionn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-15-05
Location: Ypsilanti
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amundaza View Post
I looked at a TF727/D300 combo yesterday in a CJ7 ... the driveshaft is about 1" below the buldge in the tranny pan, going the PSD front axle. He's had a few issues where it has rubbed under spring compression.

If you're going go 2WD on the 71, why mess with a t-case? Why not just run a RWD tranny?

I already have an NOS Tf727 4x4 trans, using it gives me the option to drop a driveshaft in for the dunes or (very) light trails.

What type of driveshaft was he using? I was going to use the stock solid bar driveshaft, its only about 1" in diameter, I figure it would clear except under extream compression, and I can put in a bump stop to linit that.

Do you know what torque converter he was using? was it a lock converter?

thanks for the input
orionn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 03:25 PM   #8
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionn View Post
I already have an NOS Tf727 4x4 trans, using it gives me the option to drop a driveshaft in for the dunes or (very) light trails.

What type of driveshaft was he using? I was going to use the stock solid bar driveshaft, its only about 1" in diameter, I figure it would clear except under extream compression, and I can put in a bump stop to linit that.

Do you know what torque converter he was using? was it a lock converter?

thanks for the input

He was using the smaller diameter CJ front shaft (not a double cardan, like the Waggy's use). He had a higher stall converter, so I'm guessing its a non-lockup 727 he has. FWIW, the lock-up 727 is good for about 1.5 MPGs over the non-LU unit.

Also, he did run the Jeep at Silverlake with this setup, as well as mudding with it over here in the Lapeer/Davison area.
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 09:42 PM   #9
orionn
Senior Member
 
orionn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-15-05
Location: Ypsilanti
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like it was a decent setup then?

Thanks for the input, I'll post up how it turns out
orionn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 09:47 PM   #10
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionn View Post
Sounds like it was a decent setup then?

Thanks for the input, I'll post up how it turns out
It looked sweet to me ... the whole CJ was nice. You're welcome ... hope it works out well for you.
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 09:52 PM   #11
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,448
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

I run the 727 behind my mopar 360 and when I first did the engine swap I put the engine in Center between the frame rails. Fast forward a season and I go put the front d-shaft in....it hit the pan. So I had to move the engine over to the passenger side about 3" to clear. The d-shaft I'm using though is heavy DOM connected to an agricultural joint so that could be one main reason it hit. I've heard of people notching the pan to overcome this as well.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19632 seconds with 54 queries