Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 20th, 2010, 03:14 PM   #1
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default No brake lights ! ,, Help !

I have a 86 XJ and My brake lights went out the other day ..... I have checked all you bulbs , replaced the brake light switch , and checked all the fuses ... I have running lights but still no brake lights !
What should I check next ? Is there a separate fuse outside of the fusebox for the brake lights ?

I'm done banging my head under the dash today ...

Someone please give me some ideas !

Last edited by gigbag; February 20th, 2010 at 04:00 PM.
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 03:27 PM   #2
NvrTaMe
Jeep Crew
 
NvrTaMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-09
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 81
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to NvrTaMe
Default

I have the same problem with my 95 YJ
NvrTaMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 03:32 PM   #3
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,419
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

is the wire that connects to the switch making good contact? Check to see if there is corrosion.

Or is it possible that the indexing of the switch is off... ?
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 03:39 PM   #4
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I cleaned the contact points on the plug for the switch , and it is a new switch I bought today ..... How do I adjust the indexing of the switch ? I did not see how !
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 03:49 PM   #5
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

And ... with your info , I grabbed the old switch and checked it with a meter "it is still good " ! So I activated the switch and plugged it in ! Still no brake lites ! Doh ....
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:10 PM   #6
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Do the turn signals work?
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:17 PM   #7
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Turn signals do work !
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:20 PM   #8
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Is there power going to the brake switch?

I'm not exactly sure how it works, but I think power goes through the brake switch to the turn signal switch, then to the lights. The turn signals use the same bulb, but probably a different power source.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:31 PM   #9
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I will check that !
It should be hot wired , no need to have the ignition on ... unlike the turn signals !
I also just noticed that the volt gage it not working ... don't know if that has anything to do with it !
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 06:35 PM   #10
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

The voltage gauge shouldn't be on without the ignition, so it probably isn't related.

You're right, the brake lights should work without ignition.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 06:39 PM   #11
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

engine was on !
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 07:02 PM   #12
93xjr
Senile Member
 
93xjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-10
Location: Charlotte, MI
Posts: 215
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Get your hands on a volt meter or a test light and a friend, or wedge a board on the brake peddle, then test to see if there is power in the bulb socket. If so you may need to check continuity on the ground portion of the socket. Check both of these and post what you come up with.
93xjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 11:53 AM   #13
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I was just outside working on it ... what I have discovered is that there is no power to the plug for the brake switch ..... the wires run up into the wiring harness and I'm not sure from there .... I think I am going to figure out which wire is the power wire and which one goes to the brake lights , from there I am going to clip the power wire and run it direct to a hot on the fuse box .... that should do the trick . But let me know if you think there would be a problem with that !
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 12:39 PM   #14
redhead_823
Senior Member
 
redhead_823's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-09
Location: Ortonville, MI
Posts: 276
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Sounds good to me. Try giving power to each of the wires that go to the switch, and whichever makes the lights turn on is obviously the one that goes to the lights. Then hook that wire back to the switch, and power to the other side of the switch.
redhead_823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 12:58 PM   #15
gigbag
Rust never sleeps !
 
gigbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-09
Location: Warren
Posts: 581
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Did , Done ..... Success !!!!
Now on to the next project ! Woo Hoo
gigbag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.16113 seconds with 42 queries