Redneck Ram - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2010, 08:12 PM   #1
muddcherokee_09
jeeper for life
 
muddcherokee_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-09
Location: lansing, michigan
Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Redneck Ram

has any one had sucess in doing a redneck ram or ever attempt it. let me know. i am thinking about doing one but porting and tapping the steering gear box myself then getting parts from TSC. any ideas
muddcherokee_09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 17th, 2010, 08:49 PM   #2
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,687
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

my juggy had a redneck ram setup a few years ago with the previous owner. its full hydro now. if you can get a gear box to quit leaking and stay that way for a while, it would be a cost effective option.
i would not do it on a tj or yj box cause ive never had any luck keeping them from leaking.
on a better/stronger box i would consider it.
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 08:51 PM   #3
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,003
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Be doing this on my rig, you can buy the end caps already drilled and tapped for the lines from what I was told.
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:02 PM   #4
muddcherokee_09
jeeper for life
 
muddcherokee_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-09
Location: lansing, michigan
Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i was going to do it on an xj cherokee. i was going to drill and tab my gear box and do the work myself its a work in progress on project "OLE"
muddcherokee_09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:05 PM   #5
oz97tj
Wasn't this attached?
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-07
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3,971
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiNi Beast View Post
Be doing this on my rig, you can buy the end caps already drilled and tapped for the lines from what I was told.

http://www.emsoffroad.com/store/inde...roducts_id=386
__________________
Support the sport. Join GLFWDA!
********GLFWDA.org********

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
Oz's Jeep is downright anti-bling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green again View Post
Will someone please argue with me?
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:14 PM   #6
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,003
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oz97tj View Post
hey thank you kind sir was going to look that up later,

Last edited by MiNi Beast; February 17th, 2010 at 09:22 PM.
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:20 PM   #7
silverxj
team 14b
 
silverxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Davisburg
Posts: 5,617
iTrader: (64)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I've had a WestTexas box in my rig for near 3 years now with no problems.

Actually getting ready to pull it to sell...
silverxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:22 PM   #8
MiNi Beast
Senior Member
 
MiNi Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Marquette, MI
Posts: 9,003
iTrader: (75)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverxj View Post
I've had a WestTexas box in my rig for near 3 years now with no problems.

Actually getting ready to pull it to sell...
ummm pm inbound
MiNi Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 09:24 PM   #9
oz97tj
Wasn't this attached?
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-07
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3,971
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I wanted to get a cap from EMS Offroad for my TJ so I could do a cheap hydro assist set up but never did.

Now, I'm thinking I'd like to do my JK as the steering isn't exactly strong. I would say it's weaker than my TJ and very noticable when aired down. The West Texas Redneck Ram seems to be the way to go.
__________________
Support the sport. Join GLFWDA!
********GLFWDA.org********

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
Oz's Jeep is downright anti-bling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green again View Post
Will someone please argue with me?
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2010, 07:37 AM   #10
BUTLER
Senior Member
 
BUTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-06
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 7,765
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I blew the bottom end cap out of a west texas steering box last year. If everything is set up correct they work good. The warranty is good but it takes awhile to get parts back from them due to shipping.
BUTLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2010, 07:26 PM   #11
muddcherokee_09
jeeper for life
 
muddcherokee_09's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-21-09
Location: lansing, michigan
Posts: 147
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

on the ems steering caps why are there two caps if you only need on because you drill and tap the top cap thats still on the top of the box?
muddcherokee_09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2010, 07:48 PM   #12
oz97tj
Wasn't this attached?
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-07
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 3,971
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

There are two different size caps. You only need one cap. If I remember right, a jeep is a small cap.
__________________
Support the sport. Join GLFWDA!
********GLFWDA.org********

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alter Ego View Post
Oz's Jeep is downright anti-bling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green again View Post
Will someone please argue with me?
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2010, 09:47 PM   #13
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,775
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Whatever you guys do, dont put ram assist on anything that sees more street time than trail time. Ram assist limits your reaction time when you jerk the wheel. When you go to correct from a drift it'll feel like the steering is bound and that's the pump and lines not being able to keep up with the volume the ram needs as quickly.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15929 seconds with 60 queries