hydro boost vacuum?? - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2010, 09:56 AM   #21
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,498
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Very possible. Is it a stock replacement the uses the old air box, or a full blown cold air intake with the new tubes and cone filter? There should be a spot for the hose either way.
a mostly pluggeed fuel filter could also contribute to all of this- if it was REALLY bad. For the $10 those cost it may be a wise investment.
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 11th, 2010, 10:22 AM   #22
jamestheron08
Member
 
Join Date: 07-28-09
Location: garden city michigan
Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

its a full CAI cone and tubes ill give the filter a shot and see what happens
jamestheron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 10:23 AM   #23
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,498
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

There's still the question of where the vaccum line /plus is or goes, but that may help with the full rich mode when it's plugged.
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 02:29 PM   #24
smasheromalley
Senior Member
 
smasheromalley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,038
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If the vacuum hose is intended to go to the brake vacuum booster then it will not go to the air intake tubing. They will not pipe a manifold vacuum source to the air intake tubing.


Since you're describing the heat switching to the defrost - which it will do if you have a vacuum leak or missing vacuum check valve(low manifold vacuum - like when you are accelerating - will cause the heater to default to defrost, then return to the proper setting at high vacuum - like at idle or cruising part/closed throttle). Are you certain they dont have the hoses on the wrong ports at the intake? Like where it says cruise/vents/4x4 and brakes...

Truthfully Im not exactly sure what you are showing with the photo of your engine, but if it is the hose with the white ring and large diameter piece attached, it kind of looks like a one-way valve. Are you showing that it is not connected to anything? Then could be intended to go to the heat and not the missing brake booster. And FYI they would not use a small diameter line like that to supply a vacuum brake booster.

And this: "plugged it and reset the pc. drove for 35 miles with no change"

What do you mean no change? still smokes? no smoke? idles shitty? what?

Last edited by smasheromalley; February 11th, 2010 at 02:32 PM.
smasheromalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 03:15 PM   #25
jamestheron08
Member
 
Join Date: 07-28-09
Location: garden city michigan
Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamestheron08 View Post
ok so plugged it and reset the pc. Drove for 35 miles with no change my heat vents are changing from defrost the face by them selfs to......still no codes here is a better pic from my book see where the circle is to brake booster thats the port i'm talking about. The truck does have a k&n cai do you think that like hooked to the stock air cleaner?


the pic of my engine is not so good so i posted this one.no change i was talking about still smoking and real rich.
tttt
jamestheron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 03:16 PM   #26
jamestheron08
Member
 
Join Date: 07-28-09
Location: garden city michigan
Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no change still smoking and real rich no cel
jamestheron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 03:17 PM   #27
SANDVIPR
Yeeeee Haaaaw!
 
SANDVIPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Holland
Posts: 7,498
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

If that pic is from the owners manual there should be another one for the motor that you's has in it on a differnt page maybe???? I know my "duty has everything for the gasser and the diesel in it....
SANDVIPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 04:30 PM   #28
jamestheron08
Member
 
Join Date: 07-28-09
Location: garden city michigan
Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SANDVIPR View Post
If that pic is from the owners manual there should be another one for the motor that you's has in it on a differnt page maybe???? I know my "duty has everything for the gasser and the diesel in it....
Thats what the bs is that same pic is under my hood lol and the only one in the manual.
jamestheron08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.14299 seconds with 45 queries