Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:02 PM   #1
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default RF Gurus

Can i split an antenna to connect to 2 tv's? For example, can I take a high def antenna, and run from that to a splitter and then out to 2 tv sets, or do I need 2 antennas?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:04 PM   #2
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,388
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I've never heard of anybody doing this before. Maybe if you wanted to watch the same thing on both TVs that would be possible.
Nuggets is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:06 PM   #3
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,387
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
Can i split an antenna to connect to 2 tv's? For example, can I take a high def antenna, and run from that to a splitter and then out to 2 tv sets, or do I need 2 antennas?
I don't see why not just as long there is enough signal integrity to reach both TV's
ckupq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:15 PM   #4
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,387
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
I've never heard of anybody doing this before. Maybe if you wanted to watch the same thing on both TVs that would be possible.
I don't think that is what he's saying. He's not using something like a cable box with a fixed output. He's talking about just a basic antenna. Being the new system works on a digital signal, its all about signal integrity. Splitting the signal will degrade it so if you degrade it too much it won't work.

Good luck.
ckupq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:15 PM   #5
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,388
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckupq View Post
I don't see why not just as long there is enough signal integrity to reach both TV's
I thought the signal was directional, hence my comment of the same channel on both TVs.
Nuggets is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:19 PM   #6
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,387
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuggets View Post
I thought the signal was directional, hence my comment of the same channel on both TVs.
It is from the antenna to the TVs, but its not linear. You can branch the signal.
ckupq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:23 PM   #7
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,446
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Can be done, but if you are talking about an outdoor antenna with a rotator you may have problems.
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 07:36 PM   #8
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No, i'll add some background.

Its nothing more than a $30 high def antenna, however I'd like to add a small 19" LCD behind the bar, but don't want an antenna sticking out behind it, but since there is already RG6 to that area, I thought I might be able to just use a splitter and connect the RG6 to the TV until I get cable hooked up.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 09:14 PM   #9
L4CX
Out for the Summer!
 
L4CX's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-16-07
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Posts: 4,913
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You could try it....I mean, a Splitter costs like 3 bucks. If you're talking before the DTV box (or TV if it has a built in DTV Tuner) I don't think there would be problems. LIke said before, the only possible problem is loss of signal integrity. Think of it as a hose, If you put a split in the line you lose pressure at the nozzle. Same thing. You can Buy boosters, I'm just not sure of thier compatibility with the new DTV system.
L4CX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 09:23 PM   #10
Bow_Extreme
Senior Member
 
Bow_Extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Holland, MI.
Posts: 1,082
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes, it should work fine. Loss of signal can be helped by installing a $13-$15 amplifier. You can buy them at menards.
Bow_Extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 09:25 PM   #11
cjric
Senior Member
 
cjric's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-05
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,505
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Works just fine. I've got a rooftop w/ RG6 running all the way to the basement (50ft maybe?). Goes into a powered amp w/ two outputs. One goes to the TV in the living room, the other to the TV in the basement. I don't have RG6 cable going to the tv in the basement and can only pick up 41 and 52.
cjric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2010, 09:45 PM   #12
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

alright cool thanks guys. this is only temp. anyways, and since i have a couple amps and plenty of cable and splitters i figured id ask just to be sure there is no way to fry a tuner or antenna.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11962 seconds with 36 queries