trans question? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2009, 04:48 PM   #1
hemidemick
Newbie
 
Join Date: 11-23-09
Location: Shelby Twp, Michigan
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default trans question?

I have a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 hemi 4x4. About a week ago my trans just stopped working on me completely, no warning just went out, fluid was still nice and red. Got a awesome deal on a new trans and torque converter a couple days ago so I decided to put that in my truck. Got it all together and filled it with fluid and started it up, sounded like either the tq converter or something in the forward part of the trans was ticking (almost sounded like an exhaust manifold leak) but the trans was working great, never got on it hard but put about 10 miles on it, and pulling back into my driveway the trans stopped working again completely but the ticking stopped at the same time. Fluid was full tq converter bolts are tight, any other ideas?

thanks Mike
hemidemick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:03 PM   #2
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

electrical issue? you probably wasted alot of money on that new trans only to soon find out it wasn't a faulty trans but rather an electrical issue such as a solenoid or switch causing your problem.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:09 PM   #3
abagoz
Member
 
abagoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-27-09
Location: New Boston, Mi
Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Electrical.. Should have done some trouble shooting. Dodge don't have a great track record for transmissions but, I would look to the wiring.
abagoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:26 PM   #4
hemidemick
Newbie
 
Join Date: 11-23-09
Location: Shelby Twp, Michigan
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have 100k on my truck so I wasnt to worried about buying a new trans, I wanted to build a new one for a while, this just game me a good excuse for the wife lol. I gave a quick lookover at the wiring and didnt find anything but i will look better tommorow.
Thanks for the help
hemidemick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:33 PM   #5
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,573
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

join nadodge.com

i'll get you an answer there
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:42 PM   #6
hemidemick
Newbie
 
Join Date: 11-23-09
Location: Shelby Twp, Michigan
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks Dline, I actually talked to van when my trans originally went out, but i got a steal on a new tranny so i couldnt pass it up. I also got an edge mild street converter and installed the transgo hd reprogramming kit. I joined nadodge.com havent gotten the approval yet to post.
hemidemick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 09:50 PM   #7
dline
Senior Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Utica
Posts: 3,573
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to dline Send a message via Yahoo to dline
Default

put it in gear then back in park does it grind/click like the park gear is trying to engage. That would mean the transfee case is in neutral

I could use a spare transmission by the way also
dline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #8
hemidemick
Newbie
 
Join Date: 11-23-09
Location: Shelby Twp, Michigan
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no its not the tcase i can put it in all 4hi and low and it doesnt change anything. Well I have my old trans I pulled out of my truck, Im beggining to think nothings wrong with it internally so we could work something out if your interested.
hemidemick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2009, 12:17 PM   #9
mean_greenEXJAY
YJ now
 
mean_greenEXJAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Vicksburg, MI
Posts: 1,384
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Hook it up to a scanner, prefferably a chysler starscan, there is a lot you can figure out with one of those scaners. There are so many different things that could be going wrong with the controls of a trans, but anyway when you replace a trans like that you need to reset the adaptive controls with the scanner anyway.
mean_greenEXJAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13659 seconds with 48 queries