Hey home audio guys.. I have a question.. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2005, 05:38 PM   #1
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,539
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default Hey home audio guys.. I have a question..

I want to hook up my new sound system to my computer, so I can play mp3's throughout my house..

My receiver has a digital in for "PC USE" but where can I get a digital out from? Do I have to buy one of those 500 dollar audio cards? or is there a cheaper alternative
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 1st, 2005, 05:41 PM   #2
brandonfiremedic
Senior Member
 
brandonfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: ortonville
Posts: 882
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to brandonfiremedic Send a message via Yahoo to brandonfiremedic
Default

I just bought a 1/8" stereo spliter from Radio shack, plugged into the speaker jack on the puter, and ran it to the back of my reciever. Worked pretty good.
brandonfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 05:41 PM   #3
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,949
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker
I want to hook up my new sound system to my computer, so I can play mp3's throughout my house..

My receiver has a digital in for "PC USE" but where can I get a digital out from? Do I have to buy one of those 500 dollar audio cards? or is there a cheaper alternative
ipod? other mp3 player?

if your pc has crappy onboard audio, you could still use the line out that would normally go to the PC's own speaker, they also make splitter cables, and even wireless media sharing devices. can't say I've ever used any of that junk tho.

:dunno:
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 05:43 PM   #4
BMFmike
meh.
 
BMFmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 7,816
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I have an ATI setup that runs through my audio blaster card and USB, I can watch cable on my laptop and record it or put my laptop screen view on the HDTV and surround sound. I got the whole setup at Bestbuy and used my reward zone card. it was around 400 I think but that is overkill for what I think you wanna use it for.
BMFmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 05:57 PM   #5
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,393
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

i have the cheap ass set up and it sounds fine.. just use one of them that takes your head phones jack or speaker out and turns it into two RCAs then hook that into your input... sounds good IMO .
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 06:02 PM   #6
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Most of the Sound Blaster Live series and better will support digital out. You can find them online in the $50 neighborhood. They recently released a card that is THX compatible. If you're serious, I would get that.

Go to www.pricewatch.com and search for "sound blaster thx"... it should turn up.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 06:08 PM   #7
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,987
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Default

Even my current motherboard has digital out onboard and it is 2 years old. You can find a digital capable sound card at Best Buy or whatever... and even cheaper at Newegg.com
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 07:11 PM   #8
Tonka
YJ build in progress
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lapeer Township, Mi.
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tonka Send a message via Yahoo to Tonka
Default

headphone to rca adapter is what I used to use for the labtop
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 08:32 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,383
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I just picked up a bitchin Audigy card for my laptop, 2.1,4.1,5.1 or 7.1 out, digital in and out, THX compatible for $99 it rocks.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 09:45 PM   #10
badazzamc
Get Some
 
badazzamc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Swartz Creek Mi
Posts: 4,220
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonfiremedic
I just bought a 1/8" stereo spliter from Radio shack, plugged into the speaker jack on the puter, and ran it to the back of my reciever. Worked pretty good.
yup i did the samething works fine
badazzamc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2005, 10:52 PM   #11
Deke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: gheyville
Posts: 2,098
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

zipzoomfly.com
tigerdirect.com

andddd froogle.com
Deke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2005, 08:51 AM   #12
davidbrady
Member
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: macomb twp
Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I've got a Sound Blaster Live box that has digital out and also supports 5.1, i don't use it anymore, it's yours for $30.
davidbrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2005, 09:01 AM   #13
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,648
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Your other option, which my brother does, is to buy a device which is a component that sits in your stereo cabinet which connects to your network and plays the mp3s that way. I forget which ones he's using, though, but it wasn't expensive.

If your computer is close to the stereo, then any of the mentioned methods should work fine.


We have a dedicated music server right now, about 1000 cds worth of music (with 3 computers on the network, we can average 60 cds an hour ripped, so it wasn't too bad putting most of our cds on there). I just run a headphone jack to rca plug adapter out of the onboard sound into a stereo thats located just above the computer in the server closet. Works well.


When we build the new house, there will be a small A/V room in basement, which will house the A/V equipment for the whole house. Going with a 6 zone 6 source system with in-wall control panels at that point.


Going digital with the music is the best. We've been running that way for about 4 years now. Combined with portable mp3 players and mp3 decks in all our cars, its the only way to fly..
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2005, 09:39 AM   #14
davidbrady
Member
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: macomb twp
Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

haggar, have you already contracted someone for your system, and if not are you accepting bids? pm me
davidbrady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2005, 09:59 AM   #15
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,881
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

If you don't want to hook up your pc to the stereo, you could buy a wireless media player.

I bought the D-link one and am pretty happy with it. You can stream mp3's, pictures, videos plus the best part is the remote.

You simply attach it to your stereo, install the d-link server software and make folders available to share via the software. works great. You could also run cat5 to it if you don't have wireless.

They are under $200
TJJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2005, 10:01 AM   #16
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,648
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

[off topic]

Well, we don't start construction for another 12-18 months.. we are friends with the folks at Hods, but I'll probably do most of the work myself. I will be wiring the whole house, so I'll run things the way I want them. The A/V stuff probably won't go in for 6 months after CofO until everything is off the punch list. Going with a Projector setup in the basement :D

[/Off topic]


Kelly, is your computer close to your stereo or a long distance? That really difines your options for cable hookups.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27847 seconds with 69 queries