4.3 Wont run - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2009, 03:46 PM   #1
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 4.3 Wont run

05 Silverado with a 4.3 it starts up and shuts off right away. Checked all the fuses and fuel pressure they were good. Truck ran great parked it and now is doing this? It is also not reading any codes. Any ideas what it may be?

Thanks Camron
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old August 5th, 2009, 03:48 PM   #2
axxdet
Senior Member
 
axxdet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-08
Location: South Haven MI
Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to axxdet
Default

does it rev up at all ... what does it do while it "runs"
axxdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:05 PM   #3
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it starts then just shuts off right away even if you play with the throttle
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:11 PM   #4
axxdet
Senior Member
 
axxdet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-08
Location: South Haven MI
Posts: 149
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to axxdet
Default

wow, !!?? trying cleaning the MAF, and the air filter,
axxdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:54 PM   #5
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

air filter is clean maf looked clean but may be dirty still hard to say .... ill clean it and see what happens
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 12:37 AM   #6
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

MAP Sensor!
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 12:59 AM   #7
Grunto
Senior Member
 
Grunto's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 513
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Grunto
Default

Does it start every time still and then shut off. Or does it mostly just keep cranking for a long ass time?

Is your fuel pump running? Should be able to hear it.
Grunto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 07:42 AM   #8
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 14,540
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

This is a long shot, but I've seen the VATS do that a couple times. The anti theft system. It gives a 2 second run and if the right chip or key is in it, it will be fine. If not, it kills the engine.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 08:04 AM   #9
greygoose
I'm the dude
 
greygoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-08
Location: New Baltimore / Presque Isle
Posts: 6,081
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbsjunk View Post
This is a long shot, but I've seen the VATS do that a couple times. The anti theft system. It gives a 2 second run and if the right chip or key is in it, it will be fine. If not, it kills the engine.
I was thinking the exact same thing. Sounds like a security issue.

Have you gotten a new key lately?
greygoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 03:28 PM   #10
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i dont even think it has securtiy lol its just a work truck but anyway it is the factory key.
we checked the fuel pressure it was good it will start run for like 2-3 seconds then just shut off doesnt sputter or anything
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 03:36 PM   #11
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlegilbert06 View Post
i dont even think it has securtiy lol its just a work truck but anyway it is the factory key.
we checked the fuel pressure it was good it will start run for like 2-3 seconds then just shut off doesnt sputter or anything
most of them have some sort of a securtiy on them weither you know it or not.

if you have 2 keys try the other one.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 09:15 PM   #12
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 14,540
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Defiantly sounds like a security issue. ECM kills the fuel pump, and possibly the ignition on something that new.

What does the fuel pressure gauge say when it quits?

How long was it parked, and was the battery dead?
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 09:52 PM   #13
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

drove it parked it and next day it did this i wasnt there when they checked the fuel pressure. Any way to reset the security?
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 10:25 PM   #14
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 14,540
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Might come down to calling the dealer unless someone has more insight to this. A security issue makes the most sense so far. I have no idea how to reset this.
jbsjunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 07:58 PM   #15
Grunto
Senior Member
 
Grunto's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 513
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Grunto
Default

Check in or around glovebox for a button for the security deal.
Grunto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 01:38 PM   #16
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

cant figure it out mine as well scrap it
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 04:50 PM   #17
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Check the fuel pressure! My wifes bravada would start and was running real bad, then it would start and shut off, now it wont even start. I am getting 40PSI but spec is 60 to 66psi. I don't know what spec is on your truck but I would assume it's the same...oh and guess what people? I can hear the pump running when I turn the key on...that don't tell you shit just because you hear it running does not mean it's good. Now if ya don't hear it running I would tend to believe it's bad.

PS: If ya want to scrap it I will take it off your hands. Also go to autozone and they have a nice fuel pressure test kit that has a book with pressure specs for every car made this is their loan a tool program and it is free to use, you should have a schrader valve right behind the TBI unit just follow the fuel line you will see it.

Last edited by Disturban; August 11th, 2009 at 04:55 PM.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2009, 08:55 PM   #18
littlegilbert06
Senior Member
 
littlegilbert06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-23-07
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 177
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well you all fail. Chip munks had a few wires for dinner hooked all back up and it runs great. Thanks for all the help.
littlegilbert06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2009, 10:59 PM   #19
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlegilbert06 View Post
Well you all fail. Chip munks had a few wires for dinner hooked all back up and it runs great. Thanks for all the help.
Well how in the HELL can we diagnose a Rodent problem over the internet

What wires did they chew through...the answer could help trouble shooting future problems of 4.3 liters that are infested with critters
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2009, 08:09 AM   #20
hosejockey4506
Visiting Admin
 
hosejockey4506's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: fenton
Posts: 8,778
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

they were camping out under the under hood fuse block chewed the fuel guage sending wire and fuel pump supply under ignition on. it would get fuel while cranking but not when the key was released to the on position
__________________
one of Michigans 99% er club.
hosejockey4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22216 seconds with 81 queries