Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 26th, 2009, 06:34 AM   #1
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Question Where to plumb in an oil pressure gauge on 97 Dodge 318

I want to install a manual oil pressure gauge on my parent's RV, which has a 1997 Magnum 318 engine in it. The stock gauge acts screwy once in a while and I want to make sure that they are getting oil pressure (or not).

I know that the stock oil pressure gauge sending unit is on the top back of the engine block, near the distributor. Is there any other place that I can install the manual sending unit besides there?

Thanks for the input.

Sincerely,
Greg Taylor :) <><
Rochester Hills, MI
1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer "TRMN8R2"
330-CID AMC Stroker V8
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 07:32 AM   #2
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,643
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

put a tee where the factory ops is. plumb them both from there.
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 07:40 AM   #3
JeepInABox
Jeep yard art collector.
 
JeepInABox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-07
Location: Fenton
Posts: 2,318
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_jeep View Post
put a tee where the factory ops is. plumb them both from there.
x2
JeepInABox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 07:43 AM   #4
curbdog17
.
 
curbdog17's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-08
Location: 49415
Posts: 31,728
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_jeep View Post
put a tee where the factory ops is. plumb them both from there.
what i did on my jeep is hook up a mech. gauge where the stock sending unit screwed into the engine and i keep the sending unit in my tool box. that way if that plastic line that comes with your new gauge ever cracks or breaks you can unhook it and put the sending unit back in (no oil leak) The only thing i dont like about the new gauge is I now have a oil line running into the interior of my jeep.(it just makes me a little nervous i would not want to get oil all over my muddy carpet).
curbdog17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 08:48 AM   #5
Yota Bill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 08-24-08
Location: Morrice, Mi
Posts: 3,229
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curbdog17 View Post
what i did on my jeep is hook up a mech. gauge where the stock sending unit screwed into the engine and i keep the sending unit in my tool box. that way if that plastic line that comes with your new gauge ever cracks or breaks you can unhook it and put the sending unit back in (no oil leak) The only thing i dont like about the new gauge is I now have a oil line running into the interior of my jeep.(it just makes me a little nervous i would not want to get oil all over my muddy carpet).
then go get the copper line kit, it doesnt break or get cut like the plastic stuff does, and its much easier to route.
Yota Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 08:59 AM   #6
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,643
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

i had the same problem on my old 71 gmc jimmy. i ran the oil line inside of 5/16's fuel line from end to end to protect it.
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #7
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the suggestions guys, I'll plumb in a Tee fitting. The idiot light recently started coming on occasionally when we come to a stop light, once warmed up, and I want to make sure that the engine really has oil pressure and if it doesn't, then go from there.

I will definitely spend the extra $10 for the copper line kit ... I've heard horror stories about the plastic lines, especially on AMC V8's, since the sending unit is right next to the exhaust manifold.

Sincerely,
Greg Taylor :) <><
Rochester Hills, MI
1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer "TRMN8R2"
330-CID AMC Stroker V8
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 07:35 PM   #8
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Update on Oil Pressure

Hey guys,

Got the Tee installed today, with a new mech. oil pressure gauge, as well as a new stock sending unit for the dash gauge/idiot light.

Cold start has 54-PSI for oil pressure.

Drove the RV around town, about 9-10 miles and got it warmed up really good. Everything was fine, while driving. Anywhere from 40-50 PSI on the highway (45-60 MPH).

Once it was warmed up, it finally dropped in PSI, when fully stopped, and the idiot light would come on around 7-PSI (at idle). As soon as I hit the gas, the pressure would come back up.

So, the next step I am thinking is to install a new oil pump and see how it performs after that. Any thoughts on this? I assume that the Dodge 318 has the oil pump up inside the oil pan ... is this correct?

Sincerely,
Greg Taylor :) <><
Rochester Hills, MI
1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer "TRMN8R2"
330-CID AMC Stroker V8
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 11:35 PM   #9
Flat_Black
The Dodge Guy
 
Flat_Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Shepherd
Posts: 5,491
iTrader: (87)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Flat_Black Send a message via Yahoo to Flat_Black
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amundaza View Post
Hey guys,

I assume that the Dodge 318 has the oil pump up inside the oil pan ... is this correct?

Sincerely,
Greg Taylor :) <><
Rochester Hills, MI
1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer "TRMN8R2"
330-CID AMC Stroker V8
yep.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
"Growing old is inevitable, Growing up is optional"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstand View Post
my old lady was hoping for 3-5" tonight, but I'll be home, so she'll be lucky to get 2" as well.
Flat_Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 11:43 PM   #10
MilwaukeeF350
Dan
 
Join Date: 05-30-09
Location: Alpena/ Trenton
Posts: 872
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what oil weight you use in that now?
MilwaukeeF350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 11:48 PM   #11
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MilwaukeeF350 View Post
what oil weight you use in that now?
Running 10w30 right now. I've considered a swap to 20W50.

Greg
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #12
amundaza
Terminator 2
 
amundaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 1,158
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Update on Oil Pressure

Yesterday, I flushed the engine with GUNK-brand engine flush and then did an oil change to 20W50 Valvoline Max Life. We're now running 15-16 PSI at idle, when stopped, once the engine is fully warmed up. No more idiot light coming on. Cruising RPMs has 45-60 PSI oil pressure, once warmed up, depending on RPMs.

This is exactly what I did on the AMC 360 in my Grand Wagoneer, 5 years ago, when it was running 7 PSI at idle warmed up. Got it up to 12 PSI and ran it for about 15,000 miles with 20W50 (Amsoil)
__________________
Sincerely,
Greg Taylor
Rochester Hills, MI

1989 Grand Wagoneer "Terminator 2": 330" AMC stroker V8. 4.5" lift 31" BFG A/T's. Killer32 front bumper & DozerII rear swing-out bumper, Water Injection / Hydrogen Injection Coming Soon ... Oh Yeah! And a FISH Carburetor!
amundaza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 01:46 PM   #13
MilwaukeeF350
Dan
 
Join Date: 05-30-09
Location: Alpena/ Trenton
Posts: 872
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Time to rebuilt soon.

what gear ratio in rear axle? I bet rod bearing worn out to copper due work hard.
MilwaukeeF350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14941 seconds with 38 queries