Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 27th, 2006, 08:06 PM   #1
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
Question Ford Tranny woes

...need help, I have an E04d in my F150, and for some reason in low range it will not shift through the gears. I can manually shift 1st to second, but when I shift to Drive it goes right back to first.

The wierd thing is that it works fine in high range............any suggestions?
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 08:28 PM   #2
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
bump,...........does anybody know Fords, Or do I need to sell it and buy a Jeep?
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 09:02 PM   #3
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,944
iTrader: (19)
I will check the books. It may be a faulty EPC in high range it has enough umf to switch the gears. But when in low and it calls for it quicker the solenoid may not be able to keep up with the quick upshifts.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 09:12 PM   #4
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
That makes sense.......................
I probably should have mentioned that I put about 3 grand into this tranny about 10,000 miles ago. It does have a shift kit and lock up torque covertor now. (if they could be part of the problem)
Supposedly the solenoid pack was replaced last year, but I cant verify it because I did not get the old one back from the transmission shop.

I will get the meter out tomorrow and start checking things.

Last edited by FORD FLARESIDE; June 27th, 2006 at 09:20 PM.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 09:43 AM   #5
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,267
iTrader: (36)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
wow, for $3000 you should have bought a box from http://www.brianstruckshop.com/

Only thing I can think of it low line pressures through the VB.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 09:57 AM   #6
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
.....the cost was in the Planetary gears. I didn't put the aluminum ones back in. I paid extra and put the steel ones in with the 6 outer gears vs. 3 outer gears stock. I didn't want to have to mess with the tranny again, go figure..........
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 09:29 PM   #7
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
I took the Flareside across the gravel pit today in Low Range, seems to shift through all the gears now. All I did was unplug the wiring harness at the tranny, spray some cleaner in it, and plug it back in.

Could just corrosion on the terminals cause this situation?

If this is the case, I think I'm going to shrink-rap all of my connections.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2006, 09:46 PM   #8
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,944
iTrader: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORD FLARESIDE
I took the Flareside across the gravel pit today in Low Range, seems to shift through all the gears now. All I did was unplug the wiring harness at the tranny, spray some cleaner in it, and plug it back in.

Could just corrosion on the terminals cause this situation?

If this is the case, I think I'm going to shrink-rap all of my connections.
Yes, pull it back off and put di-electric grease in ther and make sure it snaps together when plugged in.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2006, 08:42 AM   #9
FORD FLARESIDE
Someday, yeah Someday
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 20,699
iTrader: (23)
....Thanks for all the help, y'all are great.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10536 seconds with 30 queries