302 shaking??? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2009, 05:01 PM   #1
fordlovinfarmer
CHEAP
 
fordlovinfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Leslie, MI
Posts: 315
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 302 shaking???

I got my engine in on my b2 and I had a hard time getting it start. After I got it started it shakes really bad like its out of time or out of balance. It should be balanced right. It has a 85 or 86 cougar engine with the balancer that came on it and a 89 flywheel. So it should be 50 oz. imbalance. I've pulled the distributor about 20 times in two days checking and double checking that it I have in right. It doesn't backfire or pop at all. It will hardly run long enough with the vacuum advance unhooked and plugged to check the timing, but it will run with it hooked up and its reading 10* at idle.
I can't advance it anymore than that because it up against the thermostat housing. I need some more ideas.
fordlovinfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 16th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #2
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

off a tooth
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 07:43 PM   #3
FARMERDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 10-21-08
Location: Ortonville MI
Posts: 198
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to FARMERDAVE
Default

The wrong balancer or the wrong flywheel! A tooth off on the cam wouldn't make it shake!
FARMERDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 07:55 PM   #4
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,385
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

firing order off? that will make it shake. that and fuel fouled plugs.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 08:03 PM   #5
Captain Ledd
Ranger Addiction?
 
Captain Ledd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Davisburg
Posts: 2,064
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

2 things:

Mine shook really bad, but it had a miss when reved. Here is the video I took with my dad starting it. when the camera shakes it was because I was leaning up against the hood brace.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBqf-4-pZaw

The issue ended up being I had some wires opposite on the distributor of what they should have been. Does it sound similar?

*Edit: Yetti suggested the same issue while I was making my post Ha!

2:

The distributor issue, I ended up setting it up one prong over. give the distributor a twist away from the housing untill all the cap prongs are about in line where they used to be, and move all the wires back over the other way one prong at a time. (I think thats how I did it) I have all the room in the world to adjust things now.

** edit edit: I also remembered it being a real biotch to get running, and yes, it died alot and very easily.

I'd re-check your fireing order.

Last edited by Captain Ledd; June 16th, 2009 at 08:06 PM.
Captain Ledd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 08:17 AM   #6
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

may have the firing order off or you could have the wires crossed somewhere even if you have one wire switched it will start and run but shake bad and run like crap...Re check firing order and your wires.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 10:58 AM   #7
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

check the firing order for a 86 couger, firing order changed between applications
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2009, 11:50 PM   #8
shredder70
Chillin with the top off.
 
shredder70's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-03-06
Location: Caro, michigan. In Tuscola county
Posts: 4,887
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

change it to a 351 firing order and try that. Some of the 302 engines had 351 cams and 4 of the cylinders are different firing order.
shredder70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2009, 11:37 PM   #9
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

A lot of people are pointing to the firing order/wire routing and I would agree. I would also check the wires and make sure they aren't arcing out.


The 1986 cougar had a 1-3-7-2-6-5-4-8 firing order (351w/302 HO firing order)
Most carbed 302's are 1-5-4-2-6-3-7-8 as a standard 302.

Please update us if its corrected or still a problem

Also check for vacuum leaks, fuel supply, reset your distributor to factory position and start fresh.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2009, 12:42 PM   #10
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

carb or fuel injection?
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2009, 02:10 PM   #11
Broncoholic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shredder70 View Post
change it to a 351 firing order and try that. Some of the 302 engines had 351 cams and 4 of the cylinders are different firing order.
Best guess ...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 06:09 PM   #12
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Along with the firing order, make sure its going in the correct rotation.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2009, 06:25 PM   #13
shredder70
Chillin with the top off.
 
shredder70's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-03-06
Location: Caro, michigan. In Tuscola county
Posts: 4,887
iTrader: (33)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

any updates?
shredder70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21752 seconds with 60 queries