Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 4th, 2009, 09:59 AM   #1
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default 700r4

I have a carbed 82 Scottsdale that I want to put a 77r4 in for the overdrive. Now I heard that you can get a vac solenoid to lock and unlock the trans. Will this work or are there some other way to do it?


Thanks
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 10:00 AM   #2
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,291
iTrader: (39)
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

get a newer style that takes 12volts
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 01:05 PM   #3
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
get a newer style that takes 12volts

Newer style solenoid?
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 04:19 PM   #4
84ChevyMuscle
BigBoysNeedBigToys
 
84ChevyMuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-26-08
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 84ChevyMuscle
Default

u should be able to remove the pan, and slip a ball bearing in what im guessing is some sort of sleeve, that make your transmission locked always
84ChevyMuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #5
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

But I hear if its always locked it will tear it up
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 06:44 PM   #6
puddlejumper97
It will buff out
 
puddlejumper97's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-09
Location: Petoskey,MI
Posts: 152
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

700r4 has a lock up converter do not run it locked. I run a switch and at highway speeds i just turn it on. You can buy aftermarket switches to do it on ebay or summit. If you run without locking your converter it will use much more gas and will run your tranny hot.
puddlejumper97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 08:45 PM   #7
84ChevyMuscle
BigBoysNeedBigToys
 
84ChevyMuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-26-08
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 84ChevyMuscle
Default

ive never had a problem with my camaro that had a TH700r4, i kept it locked all the time, and believe me i wasnt easy on the car at all. I guess it all depends on what u want. My thought on the whole deal is if your hard enough on the transmission its bound to break, whether u have the converter locked or not
84ChevyMuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2009, 10:52 PM   #8
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

Its my DD right now and I wanna be able to run it down the highway.

My only problem with the switch is that I am a forgetful person and am afraid that I will forget to unlock it when I get off the highway.

One of my friend heard about the vac solinoid on one of the camaro forums
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 02:42 AM   #9
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They make a aftermarket switch that is automatic...some kind of vacuum controlled electric solenoid. It senses vacuum pressure and when it needs to sends voltage to lock up the converter...I forgot who makes them but I know they are out there.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 01:16 PM   #10
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Disturban View Post
They make a aftermarket switch that is automatic...some kind of vacuum controlled electric solenoid. It senses vacuum pressure and when it needs to sends voltage to lock up the converter...I forgot who makes them but I know they are out there.
WOW!!!!! Someone that new what I was talking about and wasn't trying to get me to burn up a trans.


Thank you
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2009, 09:16 PM   #11
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,849
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

get a early 80's blazer/jimmy (came stock witha TH700R4), and use the trans out of that, should also have the harness you need
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2009, 10:33 PM   #12
84ChevyMuscle
BigBoysNeedBigToys
 
84ChevyMuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-26-08
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 84ChevyMuscle
Default

This setup is controllable or does it just rely on vaccum pressure? What if you arent running enough vaccum for it to pick up a reading? I guess im not getting at where you guys are coming from, if its vaccum induced how is it controlled by and electronic switch? would it work similar to cruise control????

Last edited by 84ChevyMuscle; June 6th, 2009 at 10:48 PM.
84ChevyMuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2009, 10:50 PM   #13
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

I think it will. I found it on Jegs but it didn't give any info on it and yeah if your running a big cam this prolly won't work out to well
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #14
fatboy21
Do it in the mud
 
fatboy21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-06
Location: Orion, Mi
Posts: 1,973
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to fatboy21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_crusher View Post
get a early 80's blazer/jimmy (came stock witha TH700R4), and use the trans out of that, should also have the harness you need
I'm trying to get away from the harness and comp thing seeing as i'm carbed. But thanks to was thinking of that
fatboy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2009, 11:10 PM   #15
Disturban
Senior Member
 
Disturban's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-27-08
Location: Lowell, MI
Posts: 2,794
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fatboy21 View Post
I think it will. I found it on Jegs but it didn't give any info on it and yeah if your running a big cam this prolly won't work out to well
Yeah you want to make sure your motor is pulling enough vacuum before using one of these...I dont think a radical cam would work with this setup but you could probably get away with something a little bigger than stock.
Disturban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:08 PM   #16
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Just get one from a diesel application that is hydraulic lock-up and doesn't need an electronic or vacuum source at all. I got one out of a 91 diesel van.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:25 PM   #17
Ford forever
Bought another jeep
 
Ford forever's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-09
Location: North Muskegon, michigan
Posts: 608
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

700r4 is probably the crappiest tranny that has ever been made. i have put
more 700r4's in than any other tranny.
Ford forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 04:34 PM   #18
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford forever View Post
700r4 is probably the crappiest tranny that has ever been made. i have put
more 700r4's in than any other tranny.
Very common result of not understanding how throttle valve cables work.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 10:41 PM   #19
Ford forever
Bought another jeep
 
Ford forever's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-09
Location: North Muskegon, michigan
Posts: 608
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

well that would be true for someone else but when you take it apart and
there are chunks of metal just sittin in there then you know its the tranny
not who installed it. and i put most of them into trucks with only a 305 and
they were all stock trucks! I dont drive chevy's, i dont have enough money to fix
them constantly. Not to be mean
Ford forever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2009, 10:52 PM   #20
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford forever View Post
well that would be true for someone else but when you take it apart and
there are chunks of metal just sittin in there then you know its the tranny
not who installed it. and i put most of them into trucks with only a 305 and
they were all stock trucks! I dont drive chevy's, i dont have enough money to fix
them constantly. Not to be mean
Not to be mean, but if you're the one fixing them, and you're the one installing them, and they still fail...

Doesn't that make you, the non-Chevy driver, the common element?


Aside from a bad IAC, I haven't heard a peep from the 700r4 in the 1987 Suburban I drive daily which probably has close to 200k by now. Truck has been a tow rig with oversize tires with stock gears for most of its life until I re-geared it and went even bigger on the tires.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.23988 seconds with 52 queries