86 Ford Ranger 4X4 Turbo Diesel - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2009, 07:13 PM   #1
Keogge
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-28-09
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Unhappy 86 Ford Ranger 4X4 Turbo Diesel

Hey all who view this... I recently replaced the Turbo on my pick-up to find that I no longer have fuel going to the injectors. When I turned teh key I would hear a Click and then a secound later another click. I hear nothing now. I thought of by-passing the shut off but it is not like the Toyota engines I am used to. Anyone out there have any ideas? I would rather keep it working with the key than to change the ignition.
Keogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 28th, 2009, 11:29 PM   #2
booblinker
Trailer Trash
 
booblinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-29-06
Location: Leonard, mi
Posts: 10,219
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to booblinker
Default

Did you have fuel to the injectors before you replaced the turbo? If so sounds like something had to get disconnected or knocked loose. 99.9% of the time there are no cowinsedence(I know that's not close to being spelled right) when you are working on cars.
__________________
-2001 Tahoe original 5.3 4x4 only 435k
-Down to 2 three wheelers
-1985 V65 Magna
-1978 F100
-1973 CT70 with 125cc motor
booblinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 11:42 PM   #3
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,440
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Electric lift pump?
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2009, 01:15 AM   #4
Keogge
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-28-09
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booblinker View Post
Did you have fuel to the injectors before you replaced the turbo? If so sounds like something had to get disconnected or knocked loose. 99.9% of the time there are no cowinsedence(I know that's not close to being spelled right) when you are working on cars.
Thank-you for responding: Yes, there was fuel. It ran real well just no turbo as the blades were burned off. All I did when I removed the Turbo was disconnect the battery. It used to make a Click and then another click followed shortly after when I turned teh ingnition on. Seems to be strange as I went over every wire and connector.
Keogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2009, 04:51 AM   #5
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keogge View Post
I went over every wire and connector.
Does that include the battery terminals?
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2009, 05:39 AM   #6
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 19,347
iTrader: (167)
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Default

did the battery arch out at all when you took the cables on or off? did you check your fuses? just throwing that out there i had that happen to me ones
bigbchevy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2009, 08:30 PM   #7
Keogge
Newbie
 
Join Date: 05-28-09
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbchevy View Post
did the battery arch out at all when you took the cables on or off? did you check your fuses? just throwing that out there i had that happen to me ones
The battery is new and so are the post connectors. There was no arch and the fuses are all fine. It is real strange... My Jeep one time was not getting any power to the fuel pump, everythign looked fine then I decided to change out the relays and it worked fine. Gas engine, but if the Ford had relays I would try that as well. I will keep tinkering till I find something.
Keogge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12932 seconds with 42 queries