Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 11th, 2009, 11:50 PM   #1
Fraser
Senior Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-06
Location: Howell/Hartland
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (27)
Send a message via AIM to Fraser
Converter ?

is there a difference between a 318 and a 360 converter? i have a former 360 truck and i got two bolts in the converter, and the other two dont line up. [318 was put in the place of the 360] 727 trans
Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 08:25 AM   #2
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,723
iTrader: (55)
what year engines are you dealing with? Earlier 318/360 have differences with balancing the engines on the converter. Later 318/360 have different flex plates that are 90 and non 90
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 11:36 AM   #3
Fraser
Senior Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-06
Location: Howell/Hartland
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (27)
Send a message via AIM to Fraser
motor is supposedly out of a 78 truck, this truck is an 82
Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 12:04 PM   #4
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,723
iTrader: (55)
You are going to need a converter for a 318. If you run a 360 converter in a 318 or vise versa, you will have a bad engine vibration. The converter will only bolt up one way. You will have to turn it until all of the bolts lineup.
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2009, 12:08 PM   #5
Fraser
Senior Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-06
Location: Howell/Hartland
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (27)
Send a message via AIM to Fraser
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranny Tom View Post
You are going to need a converter for a 318. If you run a 360 converter in a 318 or vise versa, you will have a bad engine vibration. The converter will only bolt up one way. You will have to turn it until all of the bolts lineup.
ahh, ok. had a bad feeling that might be what it was
Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 08:02 PM   #6
wilesin
Senior Member
 
wilesin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-16-09
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,614
iTrader: (0)
Two bolts are closer together than the others i think ive had this problem before keep rotating it and trying different holes.
wilesin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2009, 08:11 PM   #7
jeepnxj96
Senior Member
 
jeepnxj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: Allegan,Mi
Posts: 2,924
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilesin View Post
Two bolts are closer together than the others i think ive had this problem before keep rotating it and trying different holes.
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ what he said
jeepnxj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #8
Fraser
Senior Member
 
Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-06
Location: Howell/Hartland
Posts: 4,194
iTrader: (27)
Send a message via AIM to Fraser
yup, gonna be tryin out that kinda thing soon not off by too much
Fraser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08559 seconds with 28 queries