Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Suzuki Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 30th, 2009, 12:26 AM   #1
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
fuel pump help

ok i got this sami and it will not start. i know that i have no fuel coming in and i check the pump. i got no power at the pump and now i check the relay and i got power befor it . so i get new relay and now i have power at the pump. but it wont come on. the guy i got it from said he put a 1.6l in it. what fuel pump do i look for? i see on here it said an f150 but what year and what motor? would it be better to just get one from a tracker?






thanks mike
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 06:21 AM   #2
93trackaddict
Senior Member
 
93trackaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-14-08
Location: quincy michigan
Posts: 506
iTrader: (4)
pump

does the tracker motor still have the ecm, you might want to look there.
93trackaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:47 PM   #3
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,481
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
a lot of people have the external ford fuel pump. I think its an E2000 from AZ or similar.

It fits an 86 Marquis with the 3.8L. They are from the fords that run an intank pump and an external pump. Which i think is pretty common for any late 80's ford with FI that has a larger engine or a turbo.


and tracker ones are intank, expensive, and you have to modify them to get them to fit inside a Samurai tank. YOu could probably buy a FI Samurai pump, but $$$$$$$$$
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #4
spazbrevik
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-06-09
Location: Milford,MI
Posts: 248
iTrader: (1)
You might want to pull the pump from the tank and hook your power right to the pump. I have heard of the connectors on top of the tank rusting and not transferring the power down to the pump. You may still have a good pump with a faulty connection.
spazbrevik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 08:52 PM   #5
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93trackaddict View Post
does the tracker motor still have the ecm, you might want to look there.
i am not sure how would i tell ?


spazbrevik i did that and still no go
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 10:20 PM   #6
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,481
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
have you tried hooking 12 v up to the pump and seeing if it runs?
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 10:32 PM   #7
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottie View Post
have you tried hooking 12 v up to the pump and seeing if it runs?
yes i did that and still nothing. i am trying to find a pump for it to see how much its going to be
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2009, 11:14 AM   #8
A4X4SPIT
Senior Member
 
A4X4SPIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Bear lake Mi
Posts: 445
iTrader: (1)
you have power at the fuel pump that runs about 3seconds when you first turn the key on? if so another thing to check is the ground to the pump..
A4X4SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2009, 07:28 PM   #9
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,481
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
did you figure it out yet?
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 05:28 PM   #10
RDK_YJ88
Never Lift
 
RDK_YJ88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-16-06
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 2,808
iTrader: (40)
Send a message via AIM to RDK_YJ88
On my samurai I just put an aftermarket MSD in-line fuel pump on it. cost me about $110 and it ran great. I priced the stock fuel pump from auto zone and it was like $450 but this was like a year or two ago.
RDK_YJ88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:25 PM   #11
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottie View Post
did you figure it out yet?
not yet i am still waiting to get paid on friday (i get paid every 2 weeks) when i do i am going to get a new pump

if i get an in-line fuel pump how does that go on? do i just put in in and it pulls the gas throught the old in tank pump or do i need to do something \ rig something to get it to work?

Last edited by 19914x4blazer; May 5th, 2009 at 08:29 PM.
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:30 PM   #12
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,481
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
so you have an intank pump now?

I don't know much about the suzuki intank pumps. On mine i just run the inline pump with the factory pickup (in carb form).

You might want to check around on Zuwharrie and see if someone will ship you a Samurai intank pump if you are still running a Samurai tank.
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 10:48 PM   #13
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottie View Post
so you have an intank pump now?

I don't know much about the suzuki intank pumps. On mine i just run the inline pump with the factory pickup (in carb form).

You might want to check around on Zuwharrie and see if someone will ship you a Samurai intank pump if you are still running a Samurai tank.

yes i do have a intank pump now .i do have the Samurai tank but it has a tracker in tank pump. the guy i got it from put the 1.6l in it and put a intank pump from a tracker in it.
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 06:10 AM   #14
A4X4SPIT
Senior Member
 
A4X4SPIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Bear lake Mi
Posts: 445
iTrader: (1)
if you have a intank pump you probably will not want to suck gas thru it with a external pump you may want to remove it or if the tank has original pick up still intackt use that.

I had a similar problem & was going to do the external pump & when I took out the pump & banged it with a hammer it started working so we ran some liquid pb blaster thru it &put it back in & its still working 2 years later & I know another guy who did same thing& his is working too might be worth a try if youy have to remove tank any way
A4X4SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2009, 09:15 PM   #15
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by A4X4SPIT View Post
if you have a intank pump you probably will not want to suck gas thru it with a external pump you may want to remove it or if the tank has original pick up still intackt use that.

I had a similar problem & was going to do the external pump & when I took out the pump & banged it with a hammer it started working so we ran some liquid pb blaster thru it &put it back in & its still working 2 years later & I know another guy who did same thing& his is working too might be worth a try if youy have to remove tank any way
that did not work. so i take the old pump out put the inline on and it just works like the one intank?
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 09:07 AM   #16
A4X4SPIT
Senior Member
 
A4X4SPIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Location: Bear lake Mi
Posts: 445
iTrader: (1)
you may have to add onto the fuel pickup to replace where fuelpump was then mount external fuel pump as close to tank as possible
A4X4SPIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 09:12 AM   #17
zook94
Resident Jerkoff
 
zook94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Saginaw, Michigan, USA, North America, Earth, Milky way
Posts: 1,959
iTrader: (6)
The in tank fuel pump will allow fuel to be pulled through without having to remove it. The Ford E2000 pump is the frame mounted pump from an '89 Ranger or Bronco II. The most common place for mounting is attaching it to the little skid plate that covers the rear proportioning valve for the brakes, directly upstream from the factory fuel filter. Cut the power line from the factory harness, (pink with black tracer) and hook it up to the power side of the new pump, and ground the other side real good. The Ranger pumps can handle the rigors of off roading better than the Grand Marquis pump, slight design difference. You need a pump that outputs ~ 45 PSI to keep the fuel injection happy on the engine. If you are running a carb, what the hell is wrong with you?. Regular 5/16 reinforced gasoline hose with ideal clamps will harness the fuel pressure fine, and with the sock on the bottom of the in-tank pickup, and the factory fuel filter you are set to run.
zook94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 08:23 PM   #18
scottie
American Leyland??
 
scottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sweet home Georgia on my mind
Posts: 8,481
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via AIM to scottie
hmm i'm wondering if he applied 12V to the fuel level sender now.
scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 08:39 PM   #19
Nuggets
Professional Pisser Offer
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,302
iTrader: (12)
The fuel pump should have heavier gauge wire than the sending unit. Have a friend help you when checking power at the pump. Attach a test light to a known good ground. Probe the power wire to the fuel pump while your friend turns the key on. The test light should light for about two seconds. If that works, probe the ground wire the same way while your friend turns the key on. If it lights up you have a ground problem, if it doesn't light up you have either a bad pump or a break in the wires going to the pump from the connector at the top of the tank.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 11:12 PM   #20
19914x4blazer
360 gamer tag mike93vr4
 
19914x4blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-19-07
Location: walled lake 48390
Posts: 1,534
iTrader: (4)
ok i got a new tracker intank pump today and she starts right up thanks for all the help
19914x4blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Suzuki Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.18536 seconds with 52 queries