Fuel sending unit testing - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2009, 08:39 PM   #1
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default Fuel sending unit testing

Is there a way to test a fuel tank sending unit with it out of the tank? I have a feeling mine is still good, but wasnt working becuase the terminals are rusting. Truck is a 84 Ranger and it has 2 metal prongs coming out the top where a connector goes over top. Thanks for any help.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 16th, 2009, 09:03 PM   #2
GNJEEPN
Grumpy Grampa
 
GNJEEPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-06
Location: Twilight Zone
Posts: 2,277
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

ohm meter.
__________________
../|. ,[______],
|---L =O|||||||O
()_) .()_)--~---)_)
GNJEEPN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2009, 12:34 PM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if the gauge is known to work, connect it back to the truck and move it by hand and see if the gauge moves.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2009, 08:48 PM   #4
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

The terminals were so rusted out i tried cleaning them with a brush but the prongs just busted off. Can i just connect the main power wire to the power wire on the sender and ground the black wire? Like a manual hookup not using the connector.
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2009, 08:51 PM   #5
Bishop
Senior Member
 
Bishop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-07
Location: brighton, atlanta, MI
Posts: 3,590
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bishop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
if the gauge is known to work, connect it back to the truck and move it by hand and see if the gauge moves.
most cars have a buffer. meaning that the gauge doesn't react as fast as the sender does. so it may a peer to be bad when it really isn't. the best way to do it is with an ohm meter out of the tank.
Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.08886 seconds with 36 queries