9 in install ? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2009, 07:42 PM   #1
mfelsk1505
AMSOIL DEALER
 
mfelsk1505's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-09
Location: Travers city Michigan
Posts: 518
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 9 in install ?

i have a 94 Bronco and put a 9 in it. im wondering if someone makes a u joint to make it so i can use the stock drive shaft. if someone could tell me where to get one and what size that would be great.
mfelsk1505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 12th, 2009, 10:44 AM   #2
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,202
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i think you need a 1330 joint, but can't remember for sure.


What are you using for your speedo?
fsumotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 10:14 PM   #3
mfelsk1505
AMSOIL DEALER
 
mfelsk1505's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-09
Location: Travers city Michigan
Posts: 518
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

who needs one of those speedo things
mfelsk1505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 01:28 PM   #4
N8sBroncoMI
Boones Farmer
 
N8sBroncoMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-04-08
Location: Negaunee,MI
Posts: 417
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

napa sold me a combo joint for $13 and i bought a set of u-joing straps. then I took the flange off of my drive shaft and bolted the ujoing right to the 9" yoke. that fit perfectly but I took it all back and bought a crush sleve and swaped my 8.8 yoke onto the 9" and ran the stock drive shaft and flange setup.
N8sBroncoMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2009, 04:03 PM   #5
Broncoholic
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Default

What is a speedo I thought that was an alarm clock
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 09:46 PM   #6
Chrisholmz
ESTRADA
 
Chrisholmz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-09
Location: Neapolis, OH
Posts: 703
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Chrisholmz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsumotorhead View Post
i think you need a 1330 joint, but can't remember for sure.


What are you using for your speedo?
If bronco's do run a 1330, you could get a pinion yoke out of a 77-79 f-150, I'm certain they are 1330's. Need a parts supplier? King Road Auto Parts in toledo has a small collection of those trucks and the sell parts fairly cheap.
Chrisholmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 06:07 PM   #7
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,529
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N8sBroncoMI View Post
napa sold me a combo joint for $13 and i bought a set of u-joing straps. then I took the flange off of my drive shaft and bolted the ujoing right to the 9" yoke. that fit perfectly but I took it all back and bought a crush sleve and swaped my 8.8 yoke onto the 9" and ran the stock drive shaft and flange setup.
My explorer 8.8 yoke/flange is to large for a stock 9" pinion....what 8.8 yoke did you use to be able to put it on a 9"

Or am i just misunderstading your post?

And Part number for said $13 conversion joint.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 08:39 AM   #8
mfelsk1505
AMSOIL DEALER
 
mfelsk1505's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-09
Location: Travers city Michigan
Posts: 518
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

just went to advanced auto parts and they had a u joint that had both cap sizes
mfelsk1505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 09:13 PM   #9
Lilmuddy
Senior Member
 
Lilmuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-28-07
Location: Attica, Ohio
Posts: 116
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if I'm not mistaken your computer is going to need that speed sensor in the rear 8.8 axle to shift grars and for the speedo to work. There is a year change in that 94-96 range that needs the signal to operate off of but cant remember which specifically. FSB has an article on the PSOM in the Tech section. Thats the reason why I skipped the 9" and jumped to a 10.25
Lilmuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2009, 09:17 PM   #10
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,529
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

I think if you have an AOD you can get by...but def not if you have an E4OD
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13559 seconds with 51 queries