Kill Switch - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2009, 04:28 PM   #1
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,684
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default Kill Switch

Looking for ideas of how to wire up a kill switch in my XJ. I've got the fuel pump side of it covered but still looking for ideas to kill the motor/electrical side of it. Not to keen on putting one inline with the positve battery cable. Dont like the idea of killing power to the computer all the time.

Also, I plan on using a terthered type kill switch. Like this

__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 31st, 2009, 04:42 PM   #2
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

kill the coil pack?
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 05:06 PM   #3
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBlkYJ 355 View Post
kill the coil pack?
x's 2
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 05:16 PM   #4
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,684
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

so run the switch inline with the wire from the pack to the distributor?
__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 05:36 PM   #5
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,128
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

you have a XJ, can't you run a switch to the ASD relay to trigger it to activate?
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 05:36 PM   #6
jeepinRRT
Senior Member
 
jeepinRRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-08
Location: Grand Rapids,MI
Posts: 3,627
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

on tjs there is a relay called the ASD relay. Splice in a switch to the bottom of this, it controls the fuel pump the coil and the clutch saftey switch if you have a manual.

Edit: too slow and i forgot to mention i do realize yo have an xj not a tj
jeepinRRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 05:48 PM   #7
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xj4life View Post
so run the switch inline with the wire from the pack to the distributor?
No thats high voltage for the spark itself. You need to kill the power to the coil pack from the computer. Should be smaller wires, not spark wire.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 07:08 PM   #8
ddeadserious
Senior Member
 
ddeadserious's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-20-06
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 5,078
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ddeadserious
Default

Wait, if you have a fuel pump kill switch, why bother with something else?

I mean, if they're absolutely not getting fuel, how will they go anywhere...?
ddeadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 07:13 PM   #9
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

cant you wire one into the ignition so its just like turning off the key?
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2009, 07:57 PM   #10
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,684
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
you have a XJ, can't you run a switch to the ASD relay to trigger it to activate?
in my searches i've come across this a couple times but i've got no clue what that is. guess i'll have to look into that more.
__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 11:05 AM   #11
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just wondering why? Are you competing now?
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 11:25 AM   #12
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,684
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

thinking about doing the TREC series at the Badlands. plus i'd just be a good thing to have in general.
__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 12:41 PM   #13
95geo
newbie
 
95geo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: dryden
Posts: 5,775
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I plan on cutting the power to the ECM but not the constant power source. If you get the pin-outs it'll be obvious which one will do what you want without doing damage. It'll just be a kill switch for a seperate harness that powers the things that need to be disconnected, the constant power source does not have to be interrupted, they just say things need to shut off... Depending on how much rewiring you want to do will determine how "safe" you make it on the components.
95geo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2009, 03:09 PM   #14
jeepinRRT
Senior Member
 
jeepinRRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-08
Location: Grand Rapids,MI
Posts: 3,627
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xj4life View Post
in my searches i've come across this a couple times but i've got no clue what that is. guess i'll have to look into that more.
Im not familiar with your rig specifically but all you need to do is locate the ASD relay. On a TJ there is a relay/ fuse box under the hood. Trace the power and ground wires on the underside of the relay. Then splice your switch into the ground wire. simple as that. there is some good info out there on this.
jeepinRRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2009, 10:26 AM   #15
trailrail302
Im going FAST!!!
 
trailrail302's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: north of the equator
Posts: 3,278
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I have a inline positive cable kill switch on my chassis been that way for 4 years now I have not had any problems with my computer. (Knock on wood) It will clear the computer each time and reset it which should be fine. The only thing I think it may effect from cutting full power to the computer is the fuel trip memory...so if it runs rich or lean the computer will have to recalculate and relearn each time you use the rig. Other than that it should not effect it.
I only use mine when the truck is not in use for long periods of time not to kill it in motion.... for comp. I would kill the coil.

Last edited by trailrail302; February 4th, 2009 at 10:49 AM.
trailrail302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17599 seconds with 66 queries