Trailer Brakes Help - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Tow rigs and trailers
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:34 PM   #1
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default Trailer Brakes Help

Recently purchased a 92 F250, it had a brake controller installed on the bottom of the dash.

Looked under the box and the wiring was needless to say a NASTY mess. So i went to the junkyard and pulled a harness from a non-hacked truck. Installed the harness on my truck. Now my Truck apears to have the tow package being all the wires were present for the 7 blade trailer connector. The harness i pulled was a factory harness with the 7 blade connector present.

So i get it all wired in and done. I hook up my trailer and check all my lights. Everything is good. Now while driving i can move the controllers lever to activate the trailer brakes and it works as it should. But with normal braking (not physically touching the lever) and with the little power dial turned all the way up, the trailer brakes only seem to work 25% of the time and only apply on that 25% of the time at the very end of the stop. They do not assit at all. With the power dial turned all the way down the trailer does not brake at all ever.

Is the controller going bad? or maybe a shitty ground?

I used the trailer two weeks ago with my old Burb (now sold) and it worked just fine. The trailer itself isn't that old, i bought it new.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????????
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:47 PM   #2
FORD FLARESIDE
Hockey, it is what it is!
 
FORD FLARESIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Comstock Park
Posts: 22,325
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

I have a viring diagram somewhere for trailers and Ford trucks. I will see if I can find it.
I had issues with my blue trailer (that Josh has) until I started over and rewired the whole thing. The previous owner had a 98 Chevy, and I think he did his own wiring without using the standard diagram.
FORD FLARESIDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:49 PM   #3
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

the wiring is all factory except the actual control box
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:51 PM   #4
Nuggets
I fix stuff!
 
Nuggets's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-06
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 13,457
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I'm 87.6111% sure you have a bad controller.
Nuggets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 06:27 AM   #5
jhnyquest
goof ball
 
jhnyquest's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-26-08
Location: West Olive
Posts: 26,427
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Sounds like its in the controller.
jhnyquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 08:30 AM   #6
SuperYooper
Thread killer
 
SuperYooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Lansing, Mi
Posts: 883
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Are you sure your controller doesn't have two adjustment buttons? Mine has three 'things' on it - the push lever thingy that you can use to manually apply the brakes, the '% brakes' button, AND a 'sensitivity' button on the side of the unit. The sensitivity button has a range of 1 to 5, and if it is on 1 mine acts kind of like what you are describing.
SuperYooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 10:13 AM   #7
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

didn't look for a second adjustment, i'll have to take a peak when i go out later.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 11:46 AM   #8
CreativeFab
used to be Ironman
 
CreativeFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: midland
Posts: 3,215
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

One way of testing your controller is to locate the brake "hot" at your female truck end, once located have someone apply the brake slowly and check for voltage change throughout the stroke. As the brake is applied the voltage should increase. If it is doing this at it's lowest output level check the maximum output at full pedal depression, then check it at the controllers highest setting and you should see a final output increase between the two.

If it stays the same you obviously have a controller issue.
CreativeFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 12:37 PM   #9
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
One way of testing your controller is to locate the brake "hot" at your female truck end, once located have someone apply the brake slowly and check for voltage change throughout the stroke. As the brake is applied the voltage should increase. If it is doing this at it's lowest output level check the maximum output at full pedal depression, then check it at the controllers highest setting and you should see a final output increase between the two.

If it stays the same you obviously have a controller issue.
i'll have to check it out


My controller only has one dial or adjustment on it.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 08:20 PM   #10
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

so anybody know where i can get a good/cheap controller that is more of a direct bolt in for my 92 F250?

TSC wants 60-90
Napa was 100
Autozone was 60-80
but all those seemed uper cheap in design
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 08:29 PM   #11
jeepnxj96
Senior Member
 
jeepnxj96's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-16-07
Location: Allegan,Mi
Posts: 2,984
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I got one for my dads truck from autovalue here in Allegan, it was a Valley truck parts brand ???? seems to work well and EZ install. ohhh and it was like $80
jeepnxj96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 07:58 PM   #12
CreativeFab
used to be Ironman
 
CreativeFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: midland
Posts: 3,215
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
so anybody know where i can get a good/cheap controller that is more of a direct bolt in for my 92 F250?

TSC wants 60-90
Napa was 100
Autozone was 60-80
but all those seemed uper cheap in design
Give me a call, I sell all brands but the one I like and use in the, around $100 variety, is the DrawTite Activator ll

I'll hook a brother up!

Pat
CreativeFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 08:56 PM   #13
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 31,900
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheapThrillB2 View Post
i'll have to check it out


My controller only has one dial or adjustment on it.
Look on all sides, I had a hard time finding the 2nd adj on mine
Trail Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 09:04 PM   #14
Bow_Extreme
Senior Member
 
Bow_Extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-07
Location: Holland, MI.
Posts: 1,126
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you buy a new one, tekonsha is one of the best and you get what you pay for just like anything else.
Bow_Extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 09:08 PM   #15
insaneoffroader
Senior Member
 
insaneoffroader's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-11-08
Location: Allegan
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i'll second tekonsha
insaneoffroader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 10:25 PM   #16
Tacker
Senior Member
 
Tacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-15-06
Location: Fruitport / Muskegon
Posts: 10,777
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

I'll third the Tekonsha/cequent controllers.
Tacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2008, 08:43 PM   #17
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,737
iTrader: (62)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

went and got a tekonsha voyager

spent some time driving around wiht the trailer trying to get them adjusted right. Sure makes me miss the controller i had in my old burb though. that one was a hydraulic unit so it self-adjusted brake pressure simply by the pressure you gave it with the brake pedal. I'll get the hang of it.
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Tow rigs and trailers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28086 seconds with 72 queries