tf727 kickdown rod/cable.... - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2008, 12:41 PM   #1
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default tf727 kickdown rod/cable....

I'm guessing this is needed as I know it applies pressure to when you shift.

Since I put a TBI on my motor the rod dosn't work so well. I do not have the funds for a lokar cable at the moment....

Currently its not hooked up at all or even wired half engaged. I'm sure this will hurt the trans if left like this for a long time???

Should I just wire it 1/4 shut? 1/2 shut?
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 10th, 2008, 03:54 PM   #2
ppkaprince98
Size Matters (.)(.)
 
ppkaprince98's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: Hudsonville, Mi
Posts: 3,639
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Plato,

I have a 727 also, and I wouldn't wire it up like that if I were you. It has to build pressure as you increase throttle to shift. You could try it but I don't think it is going to work.

What is the Lokar cable going to do that the OEM linkage can't?
ppkaprince98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 05:47 PM   #3
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Its easier to adapt and doesn't require space for that arm to swing. Currently without it hooked up I can shift the trans into any gear at any rpm (which i love!).
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 06:14 PM   #4
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

get the cable...
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 06:23 PM   #5
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

hey just the man I was hoping for.... So do I run risk of hurting the trans without anything hooked to it??? Also could you explain why, or point me to a link. I cannot find anything
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 06:30 PM   #6
84ramcharger
sim sim balla bim
 
84ramcharger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-25-07
Location: Riley
Posts: 1,542
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have a new one that I bought for my 727 in my ramcharger that I never opened or used. Let me know if you are interested I will take a picture of it or give you the numbers off it and you can see if it will work. I do not see why it wouldn't but it's better to double check.
84ramcharger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 07:57 PM   #7
ppkaprince98
Size Matters (.)(.)
 
ppkaprince98's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: Hudsonville, Mi
Posts: 3,639
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

When I bought my 727 the guy I bought it from made sure I had the linkage and showed my how to hook it up correctly like it was absolutely necessary!!!! I have been told by others that the life of your trans will be short lived without it. I have the Lokar also for fit reasons, but I would not run it too long without the linkage.

My $.02

Here is a link from Hot Rod magazine.

http://www.hotrod.com/techarticles/m...n_linkage.html
ppkaprince98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 10:31 PM   #8
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

84ram: I'm not looking to buy a cable at the moment. If anything I'll get the rod to work.

prince: I do not plan to run it long without it as I to have read it shortens the life. I just thought I would ask on here and double check to see if my findings were correct. Cool article!
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 10:34 PM   #9
snocross2xtremes
Senior Member
 
snocross2xtremes's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-05
Location: brighton or Fenton
Posts: 6,366
iTrader: (68)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to snocross2xtremes
Default

i ran my 727 wired 3/4 of the way back and never had a problem.. other then it would shift in to second a little early but i usally had enough power to where it didnt matter
snocross2xtremes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 11:18 PM   #10
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
hey just the man I was hoping for.... So do I run risk of hurting the trans without anything hooked to it??? Also could you explain why, or point me to a link. I cannot find anything
You could hurt it by not getting enough pressure in high rpm ranges. the bad is that it may not down shift and you start off in a higher gear causing the forward clutch to work overtime. Like slipping a clutch in a manual car.

With it wired 3/4 to full won't hurt anything but reverse. it will bang into reverse and being on the street with no forgiveness. You could blow the rear strut for the rear band. Or take out the sprag.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2008, 11:53 PM   #11
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Could I wire it 1/2 shut... or will that still be to much pressure for R? I'm going to do it the correct way, but I just would like to drive it around and get my air/fuel tuned.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2008, 12:02 PM   #12
Tranny Tom
Switcheroo
 
Tranny Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-13-06
Location: Southfield
Posts: 3,810
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KILLER"B"468 View Post
You could hurt it by not getting enough pressure in high rpm ranges. the bad is that it may not down shift and you start off in a higher gear causing the forward clutch to work overtime. Like slipping a clutch in a manual car.

With it wired 3/4 to full won't hurt anything but reverse. it will bang into reverse and being on the street with no forgiveness. You could blow the rear strut for the rear band. Or take out the sprag.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
Could I wire it 1/2 shut... or will that still be to much pressure for R? I'm going to do it the correct way, but I just would like to drive it around and get my air/fuel tuned.
KillerB is correct. Why risk hurting the trans? You can find all of the brackets and a cable at a pick a part off a dakota, ram or van from the late 80s to early 90s. i believe the V6 TBI brackets are the same also.
Tranny Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2008, 06:43 PM   #13
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

i'm just going to be ordering the lokar kit. Thanks guys.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16634 seconds with 60 queries