Jeep/Chevy Tach Question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2005, 10:11 PM   #1
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Jeep/Chevy Tach Question

Im really wondering how hard it will be to keep the stock tach in the jeep. Someone told me that with the correct resistor inline with the tach signal i could make it work. Anyone know what the resistace from 4 cylinders to 8 would be. Ive got all the gauges nailed down so far except the tach and speedo, which i think i may be able to use an electronic sending unit from a 231 and somehow set it up to work with the cable drive from the NP205.

Thanx Guys
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 14th, 2005, 12:39 PM   #2
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I believe you will need a 90 ohm resistor to make the jeep tach work with the chevy distributor. I will try and find that info out.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2005, 03:24 PM   #3
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanx bill
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2005, 12:56 PM   #4
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,220
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

IIRC the cable drive and electronic/mechanical sender in the NP231 are interchangeable. When you pull them out compare them from the connectors down.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2005, 05:30 PM   #5
Motor Slut
I put the Ick in Dick.
 
Motor Slut's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: 49963
Posts: 2,411
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81
IIRC the cable drive and electronic/mechanical sender in the NP231 are interchangeable. When you pull them out compare them from the connectors down.
This has nothing to do with the speedo...
Motor Slut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2005, 04:36 PM   #6
BigBlkYJ 355
U-Joints Fear Me
 
BigBlkYJ 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motor Slut
This has nothing to do with the speedo...
well i kinda mentioned it in the 1st post, but its not going to be a 231 going back in, and i doubt a 231 sender will bolt to a 205 t-case.
BigBlkYJ 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12112 seconds with 39 queries