throttle body injection issues! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:53 AM   #1
nicktofferi
Member
 
Join Date: 03-11-06
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to nicktofferi
Default throttle body injection issues!

well i have a chevy 350 small block in my jeep and have been working on putting on a gm tbi unit and harness. i have it running with the computer running the timing. the timing is set to zero. i have all sensors hooked up, knock,temp,o2.... everything: the jeep runs but it runs at about 80%. when in park and give it gas it runs pretty good. when you get going down the road and give it gas it just kind of misses and spits and sputters while i am feathering the gas. when u slow down to a stop the thing comes down to a real low idle where it seems like it might stall then it "adjusts itself" and the idles seems to go up. i installed a knock sensor this weekend because some one advised i needed one and when i first started it it ran amazing for the first 30 sec. once it warmed up it ran like it always did. it seams to always run good at the beginning? ?????


things i might think could be an issue:
1. where my exhaust meets the header there is a slight exhaust leak because of a blown gasket. it is just above the o2 sensor in the exhaust.
2. the header bolts could be a little loose. could this be giving the knock sensor a false knock?
3. the only wire i dont have hooked up that might be needed is the one that tells the computer what gear it is in
any info where to go form here would be great.
thanks nick
nicktofferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:05 PM   #2
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,823
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I vote fuel pressure. Did you run a return line back to the tank? What fuel pump did you use?
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:58 PM   #3
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,311
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
I vote fuel pressure. Did you run a return line back to the tank? What fuel pump did you use?
x2
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 03:06 PM   #4
TopHeavy
Yikes!
 
TopHeavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: New Hudson, MI
Posts: 1,415
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicktofferi View Post
things i might think could be an issue:
1. where my exhaust meets the header there is a slight exhaust leak because of a blown gasket. it is just above the o2 sensor in the exhaust.
This could cause the engine to think it is running lean.
2. the header bolts could be a little loose. could this be giving the knock sensor a false knock?
Most likely not.
3. the only wire i dont have hooked up that might be needed is the one that tells the computer what gear it is in
I have no clue where to hook that up
any info where to go form here would be great.
thanks nick
Good Luck.
__________________
Buy My CJ7
TopHeavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 03:31 PM   #5
nicktofferi
Member
 
Join Date: 03-11-06
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to nicktofferi
Default

i bought a fuel pump at auto zone. i told them i had a 88 full size pickup and it is located in tank. yes i do have a returnline.
nicktofferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 03:46 PM   #6
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,530
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 116 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Does it smell like its running extremely rich? Try unplugging your TPS and see if that affects the idle.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 06:09 PM   #7
Cartman
Can't lose with 42s
 
Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: Williamsburg, MI
Posts: 1,037
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So I'm assuming it has not set a trouble code? It just runs terrible?
Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 11:38 AM   #8
nicktofferi
Member
 
Join Date: 03-11-06
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to nicktofferi
Default

going to trouble shoot the codes next week.
nicktofferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 04:56 PM   #9
nicktofferi
Member
 
Join Date: 03-11-06
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to nicktofferi
Default

well have been tinkering with for a while now..... i have ran the trouble codes and it came up with high voltage tps sensor. changed the tps this summer and it fixed it for about 5 to 10 minutes but then started to run bad again. then i changed the pigtail and didn't help. any ideas? thinking my next step is to have the computer reprogrammed. thanks nick
nicktofferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 05:19 PM   #10
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,456
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

IAC isn't adjusted right or is malfuntioning

or fuel pressure
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 05:47 PM   #11
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,472
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

get a holley blue fuel pump. i put a 87 chevy throttle body setup on my motor and had the same problem. i bought an autozone pump and it would idle fine. but once its under a load it sucked. bought a holley blue and have had nothing but great experience with it.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #12
nicktofferi
Member
 
Join Date: 03-11-06
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 97
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to nicktofferi
Default

Fuel pressure is running at just above 11 psi......I have read that it is standard to be running around 11-13. Then i will read posts about needing more than that. Should i take the fuel pump out and by a holley?
nicktofferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22845 seconds with 57 queries