You know when generator sales are up... - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2008, 03:08 PM   #1
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default You know when generator sales are up...

When CC hardly posts all day long.

Hope business is getting more to the black and your leavin the red behind.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 11th, 2008, 05:34 PM   #2
mudd_jumper
Senior Member
 
mudd_jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-20-05
Location: Macomb Twp,MI
Posts: 5,120
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

:tonka:

Yes he should be back to normal around friday I bet
mudd_jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 12:14 PM   #3
TJontherox
Mall Rated
 
TJontherox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: Sterling Hgts, MI
Posts: 1,483
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to TJontherox
Default

I was looking for plug ends for my generator and all the shelves were empty. The guy at Home Depot told me anything remotely related to generators has been sold out.
TJontherox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:02 PM   #4
JEEPR
Playing Possum
 
JEEPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Harrison Township
Posts: 6,744
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Never heard of him.
JEEPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:16 PM   #5
JeepInABox
Jeep yard art collector.
 
JeepInABox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-07
Location: Fenton
Posts: 2,314
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Haha they always have 100 generators and 6 plug ends to build the cable.
Most people buy a generator to find out you cant hook it up to your panel.

Built my cable 3 months ago when they had them in stock and have not lost power since.
JeepInABox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #6
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,762
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

duh thats why you buy a generator. so it can sit there pretty bacause now that you have one the power will never go out.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:23 PM   #7
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,949
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Bullet View Post
duh thats why you buy a generator. so it can sit there pretty bacause now that you have one the power will never go out.

x2. fired it up, back fed the entire house as a test, and haven't used it since.

of course, my parent's house has been w/out power for 5 days, and I never wired a subpanel at their house, and since they have gas appliances, there's no 220 stove/dryer plug to back feed through in an emergency...
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:44 PM   #8
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
x2. fired it up, back fed the entire house as a test, and haven't used it since.

of course, my parent's house has been w/out power for 5 days, and I never wired a subpanel at their house, and since they have gas appliances, there's no 220 stove/dryer plug to back feed through in an emergency...
How many people backfeed? I know it is dangerous and against code, so I was just curious.

Perhaps it should be a new thread, but I don't feel like making one.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 02:16 PM   #9
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,949
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deuce228 View Post
How many people backfeed? I know it is dangerous and against code, so I was just curious.

Perhaps it should be a new thread, but I don't feel like making one.
define dangerous? staying out in the sun causes cancer...

to answer your question, yes, I have back fed. I have also just run extension cords.

I'm sure kelly has better stats than I do on the subject but the very foggiest part of my memory seems to recall reading an article indicating improperly vented generators cause more issues than doofi (plural of doofus) improperly attempting to backfeed. of course, the costs of improperly backfeeding can be immeasurable if you kill yourself, or a lineman, etc... and not to minimize those costs, but so too they are similar costs when you make a mistake piloting a 2+ ton motor vehicle...

As for code - my 12 year old house in the City of Fenton was given a C/O with multiple code violations, that were also missed by the home inspector when we bought it from the original owner... That all being said, now that warm weather is here, the home improvement agenda does include the proper switch over gear. I shorted myself a bit when we built the cable, as it's only 30' long - meaning if I continue to backfeed I have to run the generator via cabling through the laundry room window, as it's too short to get the generator outside of the garage.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 04:49 PM   #10
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,477
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

What does the cabling consist of?
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 05:26 PM   #11
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,949
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk View Post
What does the cabling consist of?
funny, that's my rebuttal/quote in your sig.

in my case, I forget the actual gauge wiring but it was something crazy like $473.13/foot for the raw cable at home depot, and it's roughly the diameter of my 5 year old son's arm...

seems like I recall the individual copper inside the outter/main sheath was roughly the diameter of a dime

I am of course exaggerating cause I couldn't be bothered to remember exactly, and my commute home took over 90 minutes, so it's too damned hot to run back out to the garage to see what's stamped on the rubber insulation.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 05:35 PM   #12
JeepInABox
Jeep yard art collector.
 
JeepInABox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-25-07
Location: Fenton
Posts: 2,314
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If the output on the plug from the generator states 30 amps, just get one size bigger on the wall chart at home depot.

Plugs are less then $40 each
I think the cable is like $3 or $4 a foot

All together it cost less then $150 but, during a blackout it becomes priceless.

Last edited by JeepInABox; June 12th, 2008 at 05:39 PM.
JeepInABox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 05:37 PM   #13
TJontherox
Mall Rated
 
TJontherox's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: Sterling Hgts, MI
Posts: 1,483
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to TJontherox
Default

I got the parts to make my cord. My genny can sit outside my garage and doesn't stink the place up. I shut the main power from the pole to the house off before I connect the generator. Seem to work fine, made the cord from an old 50 amp boat shore power cord.
TJontherox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 07:48 AM   #14
Silver Bullet
Livin the American Dream
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-18-07
Location: Westland, MI
Posts: 3,762
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I tried back feeding my house and only 3 things worked so i said forget it.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2008, 09:11 PM   #15
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it will work fine inside your house but what if the main doesnt include shutting the neutral off to the grid? you backfeed your house, thus backfeeding the neutral and the lineman runs the risk of electrocution because you didn't get the proper switch.

to each their own, and Im not trying to get all Big Cuntry here, just stating what I have learnt.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.20459 seconds with 66 queries