CB Help - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 7th, 2008, 05:17 PM   #1
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default CB Help

Okay here is the skinny....

Just installed my /CB antenna, powered up, drove to the highway/truck stop, and could not get anyone.

I know they suggest that you tune the antenna, but shouldn't I get something?

The antenna is grounded to the frame.

Anyone in the Ann Arbor area that could help me tune it?
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old June 7th, 2008, 06:30 PM   #2
phazer42
I wheel, therefore I am
 
phazer42's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: waterford, mi
Posts: 336
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you need to use a SWR meter and get the antenna matched with your CB... this will require you to probably shorten your antenna length by a few millimeters.... I had a guy at radio shack do it for me.... but you will also need a set of bolt cutters to really get a clean cut on the antenna...

if you don't have them matched, you can and likely will, damage your CB.....
phazer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 06:35 PM   #3
Chip Wheeler
Senior Member
 
Chip Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Grand Blanc/Michigan
Posts: 718
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's probably not hooked up correctly. Hancho and I learned that lesson last week. Plus tuning it will help a lot.

What type of antenna is it?
Chip Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 06:43 PM   #4
TS-Off-Road
989-832-4999
 
TS-Off-Road's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-20-06
Location: Midland
Posts: 96
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

"The antenna is grounded to the frame."


That's your problem
TS-Off-Road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 06:45 PM   #5
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Firestick antenna...

Why is the frame grounding bad?
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 06:59 PM   #6
Axe Lip
Back in the saddle!
 
Axe Lip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: milford michigan
Posts: 440
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what do you have the squelch set at turn it down until u hear fuz then just back far enough for it to go clean
Axe Lip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:16 PM   #7
Axe Lip
Back in the saddle!
 
Axe Lip's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: milford michigan
Posts: 440
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

did you have it to search or on channel 19?
Axe Lip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:20 PM   #8
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah... Got the squelch thing down....

I tried on 19 and search.
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:31 PM   #9
Chip Wheeler
Senior Member
 
Chip Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Grand Blanc/Michigan
Posts: 718
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does the plastic bushing go into the hole you drilled into the bumper? That and the paint being scratched off to make a good ground is very important.

I would start there and then try and find someone to tune it.
Chip Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:45 PM   #10
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

what kinda CB do you have? is the mic hooked up? I made a couple mistakes when I hooked mine up (had a nob adjusted wrong so I could only hear someone right next to me). you don't tune a antenna with bolt cutters, use sand paper or a file on a fiberglass antenna, the guy that did my frances used a dremil with a sanding wheel.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:46 PM   #11
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

scratched paint with a wire brush at the bolt on the frame. I have one of those cool tech LLC antenna deals that mounts in the lic. plate housing.
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 07:49 PM   #12
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

[QUOTE=Freak;1140732]what kinda CB do you have? QUOTE]

I have a midland... all in one kind of thing Midland 75-822

It works fine when I have the small antenna on it and not the new full antenna.
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2008, 08:04 PM   #13
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

thats an interusting radio, not sure what the issue is, what kinda vehicle and wheres the antenna mounted? someone on here was having problems because the antenna wasn't taller than the roof. whats the resistance on the cable coming from the antenna?
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 06:23 AM   #14
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

2007 JK Unlimited... Mounted in the lic. plate housing (cool tech llc kit)... I do not know the resistance of the cable. How would I find that out? antenna is taller than roof.

It is a tunable antenna... Would i need to file / grind it off, or would there be some kind of adjustment on the antenna itself?
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #15
jcs5275
Newbie
 
jcs5275's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-08-08
Location: Rantoul, Illinois
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have you check to see if the coax cable is not broken?
jcs5275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 07:44 AM   #16
Covert_Ops
Member
 
Join Date: 03-22-06
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

How would I know if the coax was broken?

UPDATE: I took the quick disconnect off... traveled to the highway. Heard one very broken up call from someone chatting with someone else. When I did a check, I could not get anyone to confirm my call.
Covert_Ops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 08:09 AM   #17
Chip Wheeler
Senior Member
 
Chip Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Grand Blanc/Michigan
Posts: 718
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Covert_Ops View Post
2007 JK Unlimited... Mounted in the lic. plate housing (cool tech llc kit)... I do not know the resistance of the cable. How would I find that out? antenna is taller than roof.

It is a tunable antenna... Would i need to file / grind it off, or would there be some kind of adjustment on the antenna itself?
Take the cap off the top and it has an adjustment screw. Still sounds like it's not grounded properly..........
Chip Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2008, 08:57 AM   #18
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,083
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the mounting hole for a firestick antenna and the firestick firering cable has to be 1/2" you need to make sure that you have the lip of the nylon insert of the firering facing the mounting surface, and the nylon washer on the otherside of the mounting surface to isolate part of the antenna...now the part of the firering cable that does need to touch metal is just outside of the nylon insert ring that has exposed metal, that is the ONLY part of the whole system that should touch metal...try that, oh and go get it tuned by someone with a meter
High Center Hancho is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2008, 02:37 PM   #19
ovrlnd
HURL SCOUTS
 
ovrlnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-23-07
Location: Westland, Michigan
Posts: 10,003
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ovrlnd
Default

screw firesux antennas. buy a quality top load tuneable fiberglass whip like a skipshooter.
I have ran a 7' s.s. on my YJ for many a year.

get a swr meter. make sure you antenna ground plane is correct (not having a short whip that comes up the side of the jeep needs to be above the jeep to get the best possible ground plane.
ovrlnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27487 seconds with 78 queries