Trans experts - 700R4 question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 3rd, 2008, 04:03 PM   #1
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 14,533
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default Trans experts - 700R4 question

I'm putting a 700R4 in my Ckerokee with a small block. I know the TV cable has to be addressed and I will be getting the correct brackets to set it up right. My question is the lock-up. Can I leave it alone and unplugged or get one of several kits and hook it up and have lock-up? I've heard conflicting stories on this weather it could hurt or burn clutches or whatever if it were left unhooked. Once done, it will be a driver. Mild small block and mild lift.

What's your take on this? The kit ranges from $75 to $150+ depending on what's included. I want to be a cheap bastard but don't want to kick myself in the nuts either.
jbsjunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 3rd, 2008, 05:27 PM   #2
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

you can get a kit and make it a non-lockup. Or you can run a 12v source to the switch and by pass all but the 4th gear lock up pressure switch. So it lock up in 4th gear. Or you can get a diesel lockup valve and it will make it lock up hydraulically.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 05:25 PM   #3
mean_greenEXJAY
YJ now
 
mean_greenEXJAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Vicksburg, MI
Posts: 1,382
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Unless someone has some proof to show otherwise, not having lock up will not hurt anything. Although if you are going to be driving it at highway speeds it would be nice, especially to squeeze a few more MPGs out of the v8.
mean_greenEXJAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2008, 08:01 PM   #4
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,758
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

I would keep lock up, it really helps keep the trans. cool.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 02:00 PM   #5
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,210
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frdboy View Post
I would keep lock up, it really helps keep the trans. cool.
X2 Wiring it to lock up is pretty easy.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 05:40 PM   #6
jbsjunk
Meow
 
jbsjunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Almost Allendale Mi
Posts: 14,533
iTrader: (36)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, it's not too bad. Been doing a bit of research on it to find the cheap way out. Think I'm just going to spend a bit and get the TCI or Painless kit.

Gracias for the tips.
jbsjunk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2008, 08:57 PM   #7
special ed
Pickup Agent
 
special ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: Grayling
Posts: 2,078
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You can use an oil pressure switch, and it will lock every time it goes into 4th.
special ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2008, 11:15 PM   #8
gigglestick383
Member
 
gigglestick383's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-08
Location: L'Anse Michigan
Posts: 87
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default lock up

if i remember correctly the lock up wire is green all u need is a 12v source u can hook it up to toggle switch and turn it on when u want after u are up to speed just got to remember to turn it off before u come to a complete stop or it will stall like u forgot to push in the clutch on a manual trans but makes it nice because u dont get the comin hunt for gears that 700r4's are comin for on hills because u control it when u want it just ask if u have any Q's and i will get exact colors of wires for u and what not


Tom
gigglestick383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.13973 seconds with 45 queries