a/c - on board air compressor - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 12th, 2008, 08:51 PM   #1
rkcbvw
Member
 
rkcbvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-07
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default a/c - on board air compressor

I put a 1999 4.3L out of a silverado in my jeep and mistakenly did not realize that the a/c clutch was engaged every time I ran the engine. The other day the compressor seized. I unplugged the wires to the clutch so it freely spins now. My plan was to install an in line oiler and turn it into on board air. I know a lot of people use the york a/c compressor for on board air, my question is anyone use a modern a/c compressor like this? I am wondering if it is worth the $70 for a used a/c compressor.

Thanks
rkcbvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old May 12th, 2008, 08:53 PM   #2
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I turned my stock jeep compressor into one. It worked great until the fittings broke off somewhere on the road.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 09:44 PM   #3
jeepguy74
Senior Member
 
jeepguy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-14-06
Location: wellston (west of cadillac)
Posts: 2,861
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i am planning this on my jeep also with the chevy ac pump all i have to do is install the tank and tun the lines but sofar the tests i have done are working fine ..but havnt tried to air anything up yet (because of no tank) but it will pump the air
jeepguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 10:15 PM   #4
MrGrey
propane evangelist
 
MrGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-07
Location: Davison
Posts: 798
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I ran my OBA setup with the stock XJ compressor (Sanjin?) with no inline oiler. I ran the intake side of the compressor into my glovebox, and the output side back with my brake lines to a tank behind the rear seat. I'd squirt oil into the intake every now and then while it was running to keep it lubricated. Easily held 100 psi. The 3 gallon tank could reach 120psi in about a minute thirty.

You should be able to find a compressor for less than $70....
MrGrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 12:05 AM   #5
Monkeyevil
I <3 Miatas
 
Monkeyevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 8,987
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Monkeyevil
Default

It's worth the work and $$ to run a York compressor. The higher output York puts out almost double a Sanden, and they are easier to plumb, rebuild, etc...
__________________
JcrOffroad
Zoom Zoom!
Monkeyevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 05:23 AM   #6
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

With my Sanden compressor and a 5 gallon tank, I was running air tools with no problem. I couldn't sand and paint the jeep with it but it worked well for pulling my tires and removing my lower control arms with my impact.

I agree that a York is the best way to go, but if he is trying to save some money, find a used compressor and run that. If I keep my jeep, I will probably redo my OBA.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 08:07 AM   #7
Kawierider
Senior Member
 
Kawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-06
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,533
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yep, I used a Sanden stock compressor on mine.

To get my current setup working I bought a cheap, full air compressor accessory kit from Harbor Freight.

I cut one of the fittings from the back of the compressor, then I drilled and tapped the back of the compressor for a 1/4 inch NPT fittings.

I put an air pressure switch on the output side, then the quick connect for an airline.

on the intake side I took a section of 1/4 inch NPT pipe, and drilled a bunch of holes in it. I drilled and tapped the end of the pipe and put a large bolt and washer in it. I threaded the untapped end of the pipe into the luber. The bolt sandwiched a craftsmen lawnmower air filter between it, and the luber. The luber was threaded into my hole in the compressor.

To run the compressor I have a switch run but currently just plug a jumper wire from the presssure switch to the battery.

I do not run a tank yet(but I will be running a bout 3 gallons of tank shortly).

I can air up a 31 inch tire from flat to 35 psi in about 2:00 minute if I bump my idle up to about a 1000 rpm.

if you've got the money a York is the way to go, but packaging it in an XJ was a HUGE pain and i didn't have the money, so I didnt. I am very happy with this set up. THe harbor freight kit was pretty much a bust. The luber really doesn't lube very well, if at all. The dryer definately isn't drying the air. The thing I like about it was it was chap and compact.
Kawierider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 08:08 AM   #8
Kawierider
Senior Member
 
Kawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-06
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,533
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Oh, and just a point- if the compressor is seized you will have to buy a new one. FYI. I wasn't sure if you mean the clutch or the compressor was seized.
Kawierider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 08:49 AM   #9
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

This was mine. I ran a switch to the dash to control the compressor. Ideally I should run it through a relay.



Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #10
rkcbvw
Member
 
rkcbvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-07
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks for the ideas, I will probably only use it 5-10 times a year so I might just do the squirt of oil in the intake for now with the factory compressor. What type of oil do you use air compressor oil or air conditioning oil?

Yeah unfortunately the compressor is seized and not the clutch. Any suggestions on where I can get a cheap used one?
rkcbvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 05:23 PM   #11
rkcbvw
Member
 
rkcbvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-07
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Travis, that setup looks great!
rkcbvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 05:38 PM   #12
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,911
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

do what i did...GM radial compressor. some hose fittings from lowes plumbing sections. and voila. 125 psi air gun compatible.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 06:37 PM   #13
mean_greenEXJAY
YJ now
 
mean_greenEXJAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Vicksburg, MI
Posts: 1,382
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It is a cool idea and would make a lot of sense if you have a good compressor and no need for ac, but since you have to replace you compressor anyway it would be worth while to get a compressor that is meant for this type of operation, which is a v or inline design with a crankcase to hold oil.
mean_greenEXJAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 08:25 PM   #14
rkcbvw
Member
 
rkcbvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-07
Location: Zeeland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mean_greenEXJAY View Post
It is a cool idea and would make a lot of sense if you have a good compressor and no need for ac, but since you have to replace you compressor anyway it would be worth while to get a compressor that is meant for this type of operation, which is a v or inline design with a crankcase to hold oil.
I have no need for ac and the thing I like about the factory is that the mount is done and fits perfect with my serpentine belt.
rkcbvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2008, 01:35 PM   #15
Kawierider
Senior Member
 
Kawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-06
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,533
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I would just buy one from a parted out truck, or a junkyard---just make sure the clutch works before you buy it.

I just squirt WD40, motor oil, tool, oil, or whatever else I have laying around in there. Honestly, they don't need much oil to run.

Mine has filled up air mattresses, tubes, and worked continuously for a LONG time to blow up a bunch of decorative beer bottles.

This is a pretty cool cheap mod to do. Roll with it. you do want a pressure switch though. otherwise you will blow out airlines.
Kawierider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.24868 seconds with 66 queries